Fiberlicious Weekend

Ok, so I no credit card for the Annual Yarn sale.  One would think this would be a bummer. But I it forced me to sit down and actually PLAN some projects ahead of time.  Imagine that! So I did just that, I sat down and made a list of what I wanted for specific projects, with a few choices and yardage requirements.  Then I looked up suggested retail, and took enough cash just in case I needed to buy everything.  Surprise I didn’t spend all the cash I bought – even when we went to Swan Chocolates afterwards.  Everyone KNOWS knitting and chocolate go together.

 

So here is what I came home with:

1 huge skein Cherry Tree Hill Merino Lace in Old Rose (2400 yards)

4 skeins of self-striping sock yarn in pinks, reds, white and black – nice for Valentine’s Day

10 skeins of Misson Falls (discontinued) yarns in miscellaneous colors for hats and mittens

2 skeins of Manos Del Uruguay for a scarf

6 skeins of Frog Tree Alpaca in a lovely plum for this

 

 

AC48.jpg

 

 

Faina’s Scarf from Fibertrends.  What WAS I thinking.  Sure it’s a pretty enough scarf but ti has 427 individual rows with repeats! in it.  Obviously this is not something to take to my AA Knitting meetings.  Nor is can I drink alcohol while knitting this.  What WAS I thinking!

That’s all I can remember right now (there may be more) but I think I did fairly well at the sale.

Sunday Morning I was up earlier than usual and went out to meet a lovely group of women who knit at Kimball’s on Rtw 110 in Westford on Sunday mornings.  It’s a very cozy spot to knit.  I also met some more spinners (unfortunately they meet on Fridays – in Concord) totally not convenient for me.

I ran back to the house to pick up the kitchen and load the dishwasher (other than cleaning the bathrooms and a couple of loads of laundry) this was all the housework that was done this weekend.  Grace did not pick up the livingroom, nor did she so anything regarding that pigsty she calls a room, nor did she do any of her laundry.  Oh and she self pierced her eyebrow at some point so I made her remove the ring so now she has 2 very sore and very red holes on either side of her eyebrow. Ew!

(I really, really, really, really, really hate teenage girls)

Then Sunday after noon, I went out again to meet the Nashua SnB-NH girls at Border’s – what a delight it is to just knit and laugh.  I left DD at home which is probably why it was so pleasant. I actually was able to do most of the increase rows on the scarf but when I got home I did something horrible – I had a couple of glasses of wine so I think I’ll have to frog most/all of the scarf done so far.  But that’s ok – it’s the process, right?

2 responses to “Fiberlicious Weekend

  1. Good on you, getting those taxes done! Yowza!
    And your haul from the sale sounds fabulous. Good idea, figuring out what you might need for what project. I just buy ten skeins of stuff if I have nothing in particular in mind (enough for a pair of socks would be an exception). But then, I also haven’t bought yarn since Rhinebeck.

    back to the glass of wine and the sock&stripeything&Hardangervidda. I do love doing this stuff, I do, I really do, I just….don’t have enough hours in the day. *sigh*

    See you someplace or other, Borders in a couple weeks if not before.

  2. yay, MORE yarn. I guess having a game plan makes sense. I’ll have to try that…soon. Funny story about the eyebrow pearcing. (Remember when…?lol)

Leave a Reply

