Who do you knit for?

After reading the Yarn Harlot's blog entry today.  It got me wondering, who do we knit for and what do we knit for them?

Now I love knitting scarves.  They are like samplers of different yarns, and patterns.  These I give to my friends as gifts and my friends seem to appreciate the love and work that go into them.

I also love to knit socks, but so far I've only knit them for my family, and these are definitely a labor of love, mainly because, I come from a family with huge (and I mean HUGE!) feet. Not to mention that so far most of the socks I have knit have been knit from what you might consider luxury fibers.  Merino, merino and silk blends, cashmere blends, etc.  That is until recently when I made the foray into the cute self striping and patterning yarns.  So, I'm thinking maybe it's time to start knitting socks for friends.  And if I do start knitting socks for my friends how do you pick which friends to knit socks for, because I couldn't possibly knit socks for all my friends at least not this year.

But then there is always the possibility that these friends might get hooked on hand knit socks.  So what's a girl to do?

My new friend Ivy says that she would knit socks for the friends that appreciate her knitting and ask.  She doesn't know my friends 🙂  LOL!  I keep trying to get my friends to knit but they all say they are too busy.  Hrumph! Can you imagine being too busy to knit?  What else would you do while watching TV or waiting for your kid to finish their music lesson?

Now speaking of the Harlot, I got her new book, Knitting Rules! The Yarn Harlot's Bag of Knitting Tricks , in the mail, and it is wonderful!  She is as funny as ever, and there are lots of bits about the whys and wherefores of knitting but presented in her always amusing style.  Stephanie is the Erma Bombeck of our times.  Thank you Harlot we really needed someone to make us laugh.

Back to the socks….

I still have some yarn left on the toe-up socks I'm doing – they should be finished soon.  Of course this also meant I needed to order more sock yarn, now that I'm addicted to the self-striping and pattern yarns.  It also means my friends have a better shot at getting a pair for Christmas this year.

The Yoga Wrap….  I'm about 3/4's of the way up the sleeves and of course I ran out of yarn, so I need to spin some more tonight.

Unfortunately all this also leaves me in the lerch for my knitting group tomorrow, which means I have to start something new…. what will I be knitting tomorrow?

Leave a Reply

