Checking in

What a lovely weekend…  I accomplished a few things, like getting all the debris and leaves out of the backyard.  The daylilies are getting big and my iris are coming up nicely too.

I frogged the black socks I was knitting and started a new pair, Embossed Leaves Socks from Interweave Knits, Winter 2005.  They won't fit me, too small, so I don't know who I will be bestowing these on, maybe my niece for her birthday.

I love the pattern, but it's not one that will easily be up-sized with an additional pattern repeat, But I think I have an idea so the next pair I can increase in size for me!

DD went to the Dresden Dolls concert on Friday night, she had left before I got home from work and didn't get home until after midnight.  Imagine my surprise when she came in and I noticed that she had not only dressed like Amanda Palmer, but that she had also removed her eyebrows to do the tribal thing Amanda does over her (also) missing eyebrows.  Who knew I was supposed to burst out laughing.  But you have to admit seeing your dark haired child with no eyebrows has to be pretty funny.

Sunday was drab a dreary.  DD was again gone and had stayed over with a friend on Saturday night.  So I was able to actually make a dent on cleaning out closets and dressers and actually putting a dent into cleaning out my bedroom.  I just turning on the chick flick channel and watched Sleeping In Seattle, Stepmom (it always makes me cry) and Pretty Woman while working on my room.  I'm planning on painting it, putting down new floors, getting new furniture and creating my personal sanctuary up there.  It will also have a deadbolt lock on the door to keep you-know-who out.

I've decided to get rid of the queen bed and get a double (heck it's only me) this way I'll have room for a nice upolstered chair to sit and knit and relax it.  Heavenly.

3 responses to “Checking in

  1. I nice upholstered chair sounds wonderful. Someday, I’ll live in an aprtment large enough for one! 😛

  2. I almost spewed my coffee when I read the bit about the eyebrows. You should post a no food or drink warning 😉

  3. Are there any lengths to which teenagers won’t go to make a statement? 🙂 (As long as she doesn’t start coming to school in mime makeup, I don’t even seem to notice these things anymore…)

Leave a Reply

