Oh Happy May…

Flowers
The month of May was come, when every lusty heart beginneth to blossom, and to bring forth fruit; for like as herbs and trees bring forth fruit and flourish in May, in likewise every lusty heart that is in any manner a lover, springeth and flourisheth in lusty deeds. For it giveth unto all lovers courage, that lusty month of May.

Sir Thomas Malory (d. 1471)
Le Morte d'Arthur (1485)

Happy Beltane Wishes to all…  this lusty month of May 🙂

Trip Report for CT Sheep, Wool and Fiber Festival:

 It was such a beautiful day Saturday, that I felt compelled to abandon my previous plans of doing something productive and so we headed off to Connecticut.

 I really enjoyed some of the demonstrations, like how to skirt a fleece… I'm really, REALLY sure I never want to do this.

 I did run into some lovely NETA people, Hi Maureen and Leslie!  I had to get one of Leslie's beautiful Heart Pins. They are just so beautiful and functional.

 I also HAD to take home some fiber (angora blended with merino top) from Honeybuns (they do not have a website, but you can email them at charbees@cox.net)  They raise rabbits and bees.  This roving is so soft and the loveliest ivory.  It's going to spin up beautifully.

 It's a lovely small festival that was very easy to get to, not expensive (except for the gas!) and perfect for that day trip get-away.  I would definitely do this again next year.

I'm looking forward to New Hampshire's in a few weeks.

And only 4 more days until I'm off to warm and sunny San Diego!

2 responses to “Oh Happy May…

  1. Grace and I stopped at Honeybuns too. We’d been talking about her on the way there as we’d both bought some fiber from her last fall on the Wool Arts Tour in NH. I’m just in the middle of spinning up some of that now (the first batch, not the second) and plan to get Grace to teach me blending with combs with the second batch. We got the silk tussah roving with a pack of angora combo.What are you planning to make with your roving?

  2. Anyone that knows what Beltaine is, AND celebrates it, is AOK in my book.

Leave a Reply

