How I spent my long weekend vacation

I think I'm the only knit/spin/blogger that didn't go to Maryland this past weekend.  But I did indeed knit and buy yarn.

So Friday I didn't get to bed until midnight, then up at 3:30AM to get to the airport by 5AM for the 6AM flight.  There was a layover in Detroit – of course I came in at gate 1 and went out gate 78.  They had a tram but I decided I needed to walk. I got there in plenty of time to grab a muffin to take on the plane with me since they don't even give you a bag of peanuts anymore.

I arrived in San Diego at noon to gray skies 😦

San Diego was warm but not too sunny.  Gray May apparently, who knew? But the sun did come out in the afternoons.  It was warm enough for me to be out with a t-shirt on and barefoot during the day and in the evenings a light shawl did the trick.

That evening my friend, Chris and hubby Rob had family over for a cookout.  It was really good to see all the kids who are now all grown-ups!  WHEN DID THAT HAPPEN?!

By 10pm west coast time I was fading fast.

Sunday Chris and I spent the entire morning knitting.  Her back patio was surrounded by lush palms and birds of paradise in full bloom, it was lovely.

My friend is now completely indoctrinated obsessed with yarn and knitting.  But she was tired of scarves, so I brought out a bunch of my knitting mags and we found a really cute capped sleeve sweater in a bulky knit that she liked. 

She took me to a yarn store where I found some lovely sock yarn (as if I need it, right? – don't answer that!) and she found some yarn to do the sweater.

So I taught her about increases and decreases and she got the back done on the sweater with no problems.

We then broke a way from our knitting to go to dinner at a great Mexican restaurant Chilango's on University Ave. Excellent food!

Monday Chris and I went out for breakfast.  Apparently going out for breakfast is the thing in San Diego.  We went to The Mission which had a very cool atmosphere and excellent food.

Inbetween eating and sleeping, we knit.

That night I also got to meet my Auntie Joan and Uncle Chas for dinner.  The dinner wasn't that great so we won't mention the restaurant, but the company was grand and we had a lovely walkabout after dinner so Chas could enjoy his ceeegar 🙂  It was so good to see them.

Then it was back to Chris', pack and to bed for the early call and off to the airport.

The flight home was uneventful, although the landing was a bit scary with the wind, rain and fog.  I was happy when we finally touched down.

And now it's back to work.  ppppfft!

Oh the Meme for my Dye-O-Rama Buddy.

Specific to this swap:

Your favorite colors? 

I love purples, blues, greens, teals, browns, yellows… anything but orange 🙂

Preferred yarn weight (Fingering, Sport, DK, maybe even Worsted)?

I'm assuming we are talking socks here – so fingering is my fave for socks..

Do you prefer solid or multicolored yarn?

Yes

If your buddy is able to do so, would you like a variegated, self-striping, or self-patterning yarn?

I will love anything!

Would you be interested in a wool blend sock yarn (nylon, tencel, silk, acrylic, alpaca, etc.)?

Silk? Alpaca? how lovely – but I am easy to please.

Imagine the perfect colorway. What would you name it?

I am so bad with naming colorways – maybe something to do with the ocean and beaches and boardwalks.

What was the biggest appeal to you for joining this dye-along?

Forcing myself to do some dyeing (things have been piling up) and just to have some fun.

General yarn/fiber questions:

Have you dyed yarn/fiber before?

Yes, with my sister – she's the professional I am not

If so, what’s your favorite dye and method?

I like the handpainting technique – it gives me better control over the color placement.  I've used reactive dyes and I've tried koolaid dying.  But I think I want to try some acid dyes.

Do you spin?

Yes I do

Have you knit socks before?

Many pairs

Do you use sock yarn for just socks or in other patterns too?

Not yet, but I can think of a few I want to try.

What are some of your favorite yarns?

For socks I love Henry's Attic Ivory Silk – that is just yummy.  I also like Cherry Tree Hill sock yarns too.  For sweaters, hats and scarves I like to knit with alpaca and merino yarns.  I have some BFL that I'm trying to find the perfect pattern for.  I also love to knit lace with Alpaca lace. 

What yarn do you totally covet?

Cashmere – I am a total cashmere-ho.

Favorite patterns?

For socks you cannot beat the Queen Kahuna Crazy Heels and Toes for knitting two socks on two circulars, toe-up or down.

Any pattern you would love to make if money and time were no object?

A cobweb weight wedding ring shawl.  I do really want to do this some day soon before my eyes go.

Favorite kind of needles (brand, materials, straights or circs, etc)?

Addi-Turbos for socks.  But I also like bamboos.  It depends on what I'm knitting.

If you were a specific kind of yarn, which brand and kind of yarn would you be?

Cashmere Silk blend

Nothing to do with knitting/yarn/fiber in any way but seemed kinda fun:

Do you have a favorite candy or mail-able snack?

If it's chocolate I will eat it 🙂

What’s your favorite animal?

Cats

Do you have pets? What are their species/names/ages?

I have 2 cats – a calico named Spirit who's about 13ish and a tuxedo boy named Rocky who's probably around 6 or 7

If you were a color what color would you be?

Oh something very bright and splashy LOL!

What is your most inspiring image, flower, or object in nature?

Water – with stones, or shells, or seaglass

Tell me the best quote you’ve ever heard or read.

Oh there are just so many.  I guess my fav-dujour is:

"Having abandoned my search for the truth, I am now searching for a good fantasy" Ashley Brilliant

Do you have a wishlist?

You betcha – oh you meant online or written down.  No alas it's all in my head and changes on a whim.

Anything else you’d like to share with the group today?

hmmm, I don't think so, maybe later.

2 responses to “How I spent my long weekend vacation

  1. I didn’t make it to MD either, nor will I get to NH this weekend. 😦

    I’m glad to hear your trip went well! 🙂

  2. Pingback: chair heel high shoes

Leave a Reply

