Too much of a good thing?

Sunday I picked up DD from camp.  This is her second year at rock and roll camp and it still blows me away what these girls and women are able to accomplish in just 9 days. Here are about a dozen girls ranging in age from 11 to 18, with different backgrounds, different levels of expertise, and even different countries and languages, and they not only manage to come together, compose new songs, learn new arrangements, and then put it all together into a spectacular performance.

When DD called me on Friday to see who was coming, I felt horrible telling her no one could make it.  In the end though Michael and Isabel did manage to come to the performance and surprised her.

So, on Friday I figured I finally had a reason to purchase a digital video camera after wanting one for years and not really being able to justify it.  But for this…  I had no other choice if we wanted to share it with Grandma and friends, I need a video camera.

After work on Friday I drove to Circuit City and ended up getting the Sony Handycam.  It’s so small and light and very easy to use.   And although I’m not very skilled and videotaping, I have to say the video of the performance came out really well.  I am especially wowed by the sound.

Now I just need to figure out if I can get the video on to the pc and posted on the blog.

Of course the day afterwards it was back to school and DD was not too happy to be back into the real world.  unfortunately this turned her into flaming bitch from hell, especially to me.  I’m keeping cool, calm and collected when I tell her that I do not deserve to be spoken to or treated in this way.  I also suggested she start stepping up and be more responsible for her actions.  So, she then said that “I’d been watching too much Dr. Phil.” 

Well the gravy train is over and now that she’s in high school, specific behavior is EXPECTED now and I’m not taking her sh*t anymore.

Of course then in the next breath she tells me she wants a new laptop with all the bells and whistles.  Ya right…. AND an electric drum kit!

So I ask “exactly how to you plan on buying $4000 worth of electronics?” cuz  I sure as hell am not.

I’m also making it clear that if she doesn’t pass her classes (ALL OF THEM!) – then there will be no camp next year.  And here I was wishing and actually thinking of either sending her to two sessions and wishing they were both a month long.

I really did miss her, but I sure didn’t miss her attitude.

On the knitting front.  I actually did meet up on the blistering hot Saturday with some knitter buds at the Lowell Folk Festival.

I am still working on the second Cherry Bomb Tank and it’s coming right along.

4 responses to “Too much of a good thing?

  1. Wow, you sure have you hands full, no question about that. And, how long before she graduates? I guess it was a good thing that I ran away from home as soon as I graduated, saving mom tons of aggravation… (And that was before technology.)

  2. Being thirteen just bites. I wish I could say, oh it gets better, but at 16 dd is only intermitantly pleasant. It is a bit better, though; 13 was probably the worst year of her life.

    She comes home Friday. Sigh.

  3. Yep, DD’s certainly have attitudes. I think they should be referred to as DWA (daughter with attitude)! I’ve got a 23-year-old that’s just now starting to lose the attitude.

  4. Ah, to be 13 or 14 again… Oh wait. No, I’d rather die. It was the hardest part of my life thus far.

Leave a Reply

