Anarchist

Okay, I’ll admit to a bit of anarchist blood runs through my veins.  Apparently is also runs through my mother’s.  I think this is a case of catching ‘stuff’ from your kids.

Mom works at a local department store that was recently acquired by a national company (you can guess who).  Recently they passed down the edict that all personnel must wear black to work.  Mom is making a birka to wear in.  I hope she takes a picture.

And yes I am delighted that Joe Lieberman, CT Senator was defeated in the Democratic primary.  It’s about time we take back the name Liberal, much like some of us took back the name Witch.

The Middle East is a friggin mess, always has been, and always will.  But we’ve really let the genii out of the bottle this time and there is no going back.  But who do we American’s think we are trying to shovel democracy down the throats of a people who just don’t get it and to be honest, don’t really want it.  Furthermore, once they do get it, they vote to put their oppressors into power and against their own interests.  It’s a different mindset, one that we as American’s can’t begin to comprehend completely.

The bottom line is, there is no solution to this mess and we can’t keep sending our young men and women to die for this ridiculous and ill-fated cause anymore.  We have to bring them home, cut and run, whatever you want to call it, because there is no way to ‘fix’ this mess.  So all you politicians who continue to support and fund this mess, be prepared to go down.

This then leads to the big question: why can’t we all just get along and play nice?  It’s a big world, there is room for everyone on this planet.  We just need to keep it clean, take care of it, feed each other and accept each others differences.  I just don’t get why this is so damned hard.  It must be something genetic.  There are no winners to this struggle.

On the knitting front.  I started the Swallowtail Shawl from the current Interweave Knits.

 swallowtail01.jpg

This will teach me to read a pattern through and thoroughly prior to starting it.  It seemed simple enough, that is until you get to the first Lily of the Valley border and realize it has a Purl 5 TOGETHER!  Ya, right.  So I’m in the process of tinking back 9 rows of this, since I messed up on one side of the shawl.  I will admit that although the P5tog is cumbersome and time consuming, it is a pretty shawl.  I’m knitting it with Henry’s Attic Alpaca Lace (natural, and undyed).

I’m compelled to finish this for my cousin Jen as payment for cleaning out my basement.  I love her for doing that.  BTW, the dumpster arrived yesterday.  They brought be a 30 yard one because they couldn’t find an available 15 yard on.  Same price, same weight limit (2 tons!)  I’ve already started dumping stuff into it.   So I guess the next two weekends will be filled with belated (ya like 10 years, 5 moons and a few days) spring cleaning.  The thought for the next two weeks is simplify and the mantra is “if in doubt throw it out“.  Now life would be complete if only DD would take this opportunity to hoe out her disgusting room.  Then Allah really could be praised.

On a sad note: Sharon Cucharia passed away.  Her husband David is a dear friend of mine from high school days, and Sharon was the love of his life.  Sharon had been ill with cancer for quite some time.  I hope it eases David’s pain and loss to know that Sharon knew/knows that she is loved and that the love bond never dies and with that know that Sharon will always be with him.  David know that you are loved too.

6 responses to “Anarchist

  1. Sorry to hear about your friend passing.

    The shawl does sound pretty and worth the pain of p5tog.

    Good luck on all your projects … especially if you get around to the one about getting us all to just get along on this planet. That would be grand. Mankind has some stellar qualities and some extremely odd and completely irrational quirks.

    ~firefly

  2. Ooh, any furniture worth keeping? (As if I really need more crap in *my* life, being that I’m trying to clear stuff out myself…)

    What size needles is the Swallowtail on? I suppose I’ll see tonight. 🙂

  3. Hm… anarchist? Not so much, more a “not in favor of government being Realy F***ing Stupid”-ist. Reminds me of Leslie Fish, though – longish story there.

    What gets me is that there is no military objective. I mean, “when the Iraqis stand up, we’ll stand down”??? WTF?? So does that mean priority is on training, or offensive actions against militias, or providing security for the huge megabases we’re building, or what?

    Ahem.

    The lace looks pretty. And the Caron ad with my design is on one of the facing pages! mwahaha!

  4. *hugs* to David…

  5. I had my eye on that shawl too… but thought it might be beyond my current.. um.. ability. But ya never know..

    Knit on!

  6. Purl 5 together the easy way = slip 4 purlwise, purl 1, pass the 4 slipped stitches over.

    Knit 5 together the easy way = insert right needle as if you were going to k5tog, then accidentally remove the left needle. Now reinsert the left needle only into the stitch at the end, and knit it. Pass the other 4 stitches over.

    Easiest of all: cheat and use a crochet hook.

Leave a Reply

