The Full Moon and Socks

Full Moon from the old Diana worship

Full moon shining bright
Midnight on the water
Oh Aradia, Diana’s silver daughter

Lady of the Moon
Lunar Goddess
Puller of seas
We greet your celestial jewel at the waxing of its powers
with a rite in your honor
Lady, you are known by many names
Aphrodite, Kerridwen, Diana, Isis and many more.

With your lord by your side, we give you due honor
and invite you to join with us on this your special night.

We will hear the words of the Great Mother:
I am She who watches over thee
Mother of you all
I am at the beginning of life and at its end
Maiden, Mother and Crone
Wherever you may be , if you seek me know that I am always here
For I abide deep within you.
Look then, within yourself if you would seek me.
I am Life and I am Love.
Find me and rejoice, for love is my music and laughter is my song
Love is the law and Love is the Bond
So Mote it Be.

She was beautiful the last few nights.

Knitting – I have pictures! Finally

dscf2031.JPG

Yarn: Knit Picks Memories

Color: Cape Cod
Fiber Content: 100% Merino
Pattern: Garter Stitch Rib

 

dscf2026.JPG
Yarn: Sockotta

Fiber Content: 45% cotton/40% wool/15% nylon

Pattern: From Vogue Knitting Fall 2006
dscf2033.JPG

Yarn: Hand-painted from my Dye-O-Rama buddy, Eliza

Color: Turquoise, green, aubergine – just gorgeous

Fiber Content: I think it’s 100% Merino – I don’t think it’s superwash.

Pattern: River Rapids from the Sock Bug
dscf2028.JPG

Yarn: Brown Sheep Wildfoote Yarn

Color: Symphony

Fiber Content: 75% Washable Wool and 25% Nylon

Pattern: From Vogue Socks Two

I have another pair of socks in the making, and I finally succumbed to the sock siren call and got 4 skeins of hand painted sock yarn from Lisa Souza! I LOVE HER YARNS!!! Check out http://www.lisaknit.com and check out her yarns, and other fibery goodness.

Oh and one of the above pair of socks is winging it’s way to a birthday girl (I’m not saying who) but if it’s your birthday soon, keep an eye on the mailbox.

UPDATE:  I forgot to mention that I knit all four pairs on 4 dpns, top down and I finally learned the Kitchener Stitch!  Thank you Jena!!!!

2 responses to “The Full Moon and Socks

  1. According to my astronomy reading , the Full Moon has been about 12% larger then usual this cycle because of the oval orbit – it’s on the close side of the oval.

    We had a good celebration as well – little girl moon jumping while I read various passages from Circle Round to her.

    I like your poem – I’m copying it out to put in my book. Is it original, or is there a source other then “Witchypoo’s Blog” I should credit?

  2. I *knew* it was Cape Cod! I remember eyeballing the colorway for a while on KnitPicks. 😉

    I’m very jealous of all the socks being finished. I’m such a slow knitter… but I am the Kitchener Queen! (Except when I’m tired and do it inside-out.)

    See you tonight!

Leave a Reply

