True Confessions (cynical but not hopeless)

cyn·i·cal (sn-kl)
ADJECTIVE:

  1. Believing or showing the belief that people are motivated chiefly by base or selfish concerns; skeptical of the motives of others: a cynical dismissal of the politician’s promise to reform the campaign finance system.
  2. Selfishly or callously calculating: showed a cynical disregard for the safety of his troops in his efforts to advance his reputation.
  3. Negative or pessimistic, as from world-weariness: a cynical view of the average voter’s intelligence.
  4. Expressing jaded or scornful skepticism or negativity: cynical laughter.

Ok I’ll admit it I am sometimes very cynical but, as I like to think of it, cautious. I do expect the best from people and for the most part I’m rarely disappointed.

But this recent turn about that took place on our election day has me thinking in very cynical terms. I wonder if the republicans orchestrated their own defeat to dump the mess they made onto someone else’s plate. Because no matter how I try to look at the war, the economy, the ill will through out the world that this administration has actively fostered… well I just have to wonder. I also suspect that there is much inner turmoil if you are Republican. Much like back in the 60s after Lyndon Johnson sign the Civil Rights bill all the “Dixiecrats” jumped ship and joined the Republican party. Now that the evangelicals who were invited into the Republican party by Ronald Reagan for their organizational skills, have begun to realize that no one in either party who may have promised constitutional amendments, abortion bans, etc. , etc., well, let’s face it, they are just not going to happen. Politician’s know that touching anything that controversial is just political suicide, no matter which side of the fence you sit upon.

I am cynical enough to believe that some republicans would eat their own children to stay in power, regardless if it was right or wrong for the country. It’s all about power. But just because I am cynical, doesn’t mean I am hopeless.

What I do hope for is that the republicans that have survived, reject the president and his policies, and refuse to let him ram any more of his outrageous policies upon us here and the rest of the world.

My friend Paula (the astrologer) predicted a blood bath and violence from this election. I never expected it to be republican blood, and there were isolated incidences of violence too. But for the most part we were civil and orderly.

Let us hope that the Democrats do not rise to the bait and find a way to do the right thing for the country, and the rest of us citizens’. Because if there were any mandate shouted out this past Tuesday it was – We are not going to take this BS anymore.”

Enough of politics and one to the fibery things that keep me close to sanity.

I started the ‘secret’ socks the other night at our weekly Java Room meeting but absolutely hated the pattern that I was working. You know how sometimes you start something and it’s just not what you envisioned? This is also why I love love LOVE the book Sensational Knitted Socks . Everyone who knits socks should have this book. So, I hate the socks and when I got home I frogged it all the way back. I didn’t even like the K1P1 ribbing. I finally got a minute to start again (don’t you just love that about knitting – you can just keep starting it until it feels and looks right). This time I doing K2P2 with a mini rib cable and they look spectacular. I’m loving them.

I’m hoping to get a ton of knitting time in this weekend. Sunday is supposed to be rainy and damp, so I’m planning on staying in my jammies, watching old movies, sending out for pizza and knitting all day long. So sorry girls, I probably won’t be joining you at Border’s on Sunday, I so need a day to be totally unplugged and it doesn’t look like there is another one on the near horizon. I cannot believe Turkey Day is less than two weeks away, and you know what comes right after that. ACK!

I must say I am really looking forward to January and February this year, I hope it’s very snowy with lots of big snow storms that keep me hibernating. I have all the fiber and yarn to keep me busy through spring. Not to mention I am really looking forward to SPA in February.

2 responses to “True Confessions (cynical but not hopeless)

  1. I’m right there with ya about the politics in this country.

    While I can’t say that I am looking forward to a snowy winter, I CAN say I am looking forward to February. It’ll be my first time at SPA – CAN.NOT.WAIT!

  2. I’m feeling a certain optimism, don’t ask me why. I think more and more people are sick of being blatantly manipulated and lied to, and if the Dems play it straight like they’ve said they will, good things will happen.

    OK, what did you put in my chili?

Leave a Reply

