Families and long holiday weekends.

It doesn’t get much better than having a long weekend to spend with some favorite relatives.  My cousin Jen and my Auntie Lynn came for Thanksgiving this year.  It was good to see them and the strain between my mom and her sister seems to be lessening.  We all laughed a lot this weekend and that’s what it’s all about.

A Turkey Day Meme clipped from Carole’s Blog.
1. Which do you like better: Cooking at your house, or going elsewhere? I cook at my Mom and Dad’s.  It’s the best of both worlds, I get to do what I love, cook, Mom gets to do what she loves, clean before and clean afterwards.

2. Do you buy a fresh or frozen bird? Fresh from the local Turkey Farm

3. What kind of stuffing? homemade traditional stuffing – cooked outside the bird because we all like the crusty parts.

4. Sweet potato or pumpkin pie? Pumpkin pie, apple pie, pecan pie, and cheese cake.

5. Do you believe that turkey leftovers are a curse, or the point of the whole thing? Nothing is better than ‘special’ turkey sandwiches.  Favorite bread, spread with mayo, add turkey, stuffing and cranberry sauce.

6. Which side dish would provoke a riot if you left it off the menu? Waldorf Salad

7. Do you save the carcass to make soup or stock? Yes, I made turkey soup on Saturday.  Yummy!

8. What do you wish you had that would make preparing Thanksgiving dinner easier? An extra oven, and an extra fridge.
9. Do you get up at the crack of dawn to have dinner ready in the early afternoon, or do you eat at your normal dinner hour? Early afternoon,  this year was a bit later because my sister’s kids are in their school’s marching band and the football game had FIVE overtimes.  It was pour rain and nasty and cold.

10. If you go to somebody else’s house, what’s your favorite dish to bring? I always bring waldorf salad and appetizers.

11. What do you wish one of your guests wouldn’t bring to your house? Whatever they would like to share.
12. Does your usual mix of guests result in drama, or is it a group you’re happy to see? There is always some kind of drama, and lots and lots of laughter.

13. What’s your absolute favorite thing on the menu? Stuffing of course.

14. What are you thankful for this year?  I am thankful that we are all happy, safe and healthy, yes,  my Dad is feeling much better (thank you all for your healing thoughts and prayers).

Now it’s your turn. What are you thankful for this Thanksgiving?

Now it’s on to Christmas/Hanukkah/Kwanzaa/Yule – my shopping is 99% done.  I only have a few odds and ends and stocking stuffers to pick up and wrap.

DD has already started dragging the Christmas stuff out, and she still has Halloween stuff to put away!   She has also requested a REAL tree and not a fake one this year.  The deal is she has to clean out the back (three season) room to put the tree out there.  No clean, no tree.

Last night we went to see a production of the play ‘Rent’ at the Lowell Auditorium.  It was spectacular.   I promised myself I wouldn’t cry… I did anyway.  I always cry when Angel dies.

I also finished up one knitting project this weekend but now without a few obstacles.   I only had the picot bind off to finish the Fiddlesticks Shoal Water Shawl that was lying in a bag in my room, but some how I managed to lose the insert sheet from the pattern with the last bit of info I needed to finish the already started bind off.  I tried to figure out what I had done by tinking back, but that was to no avail, so I ran over to my local yarn shop (Woolpack in Littleton) and a lovely person sat down and helped figure it out so off I went to finish up.  Of course I ran out of yarn (I KNOW there is another ball somewhere in my house, but do you think I could find it?) so pulled out some sort of matching left overs and finished it off.  If I ever do find the other ball, I’ll just rip it out and re-do.

And just in case and so I don’t forget the cast off:

*Cast off one stitch

Knit cast on 3 stitches to left hand needle, then knit and bind off each stitch (4 total)

Repeat from *

One response to “Families and long holiday weekends.

  1. Glad you had a nice Thanksgiving! Like you I am mostly thankful for all of the beautiful people in my life…but yarn and pumpkin pie are also right up there 🙂 BTW, I think that your picot bind-off is available on Knitty (I just used it to edge a bag) just in case disaster strikes and you need to find it quickly!!

Leave a Reply

