Winter Solstice

How appropriate that my Darling Daughter be born the day before the Winter Solstice.  The darkest and longest night, and that it was.

I was huge, really huge.  It was the first year I started Christmas shopping on-line because I couldn’t walk for more than a 1/2 hour at the mall before my ankles turned into elephant feet with the swelling.  I had gone to the OBs that Monday and was told that she was breech and ready to come out at anytime.  I could schedule the C-section for that Friday or wait until after the first of the year when he go back from vacation.  I chose Friday of course, I too was done with being pregnant and I wanted my body back.  Not to mention that having her before the new year would be a big tax break too. LOL!

So it was the night before I was to show up at the crack of dawn for the C-section.  I tossed and turned all night.  It felt as if she was doing laps inside me.

My mom was taking me to the hospital, she was going to be my coach.  I thought this was a great opportunity for her, since she had been comatose aka twilight sleep when she had all of us.  It didn’t occur to me until much later and many years later after becoming a mom myself how hard it was for her to be present when her eldest child was going through child birth.

It’s a cold crisp snowy day, so cold the snow crunches and squeaks when you walk on it.  We arrive on time (7AM as I recall).   We get checked in and wheeled up to the Maternity Ward.  I get into my hospital gown and they put the fetal monitors on.  Grace is still doing laps, but they are having a hard time holding on the heartbeat.  So being the good nurse that they are they call the doctor, who admonishes them for waking him up and he says he will be there at 8:00 to start the c-section.  The nurses are now keeping a close watch on me, and decide to have me prepped and ready to go once the Dr. shows up.

I’m in the delivery room, and ready to go when the doctor finally arrives.  Well wouldn’t you know it… she had managed to turn during the night so instead of the bum he expected he got a head.  The doctor was NOT happy.  I was just glad to have my healthy baby (with a small lump on her head) and to have my body back!

After she was delivered off she went with new Grandma in tow to make sure she had all her fingers and toes.  She had a full head of jet black hair and the longest dark eyelashes I had ever seen.  Each finger looked as if it were perfectly manicured.  And there she was… all NINE POUNDS and 1/2 ounce of her.

That was FIFTEEN years ago!  Yikes!  Where had the time flown, and what happened to that sweet beautiful girl?

Happy Birthday!

6 responses to “Winter Solstice

  1. I cannot believe that she’s 15! ARG! It seems like just last night, we were sitting on your couch watching your stomach move and ripple. Your sweet, beautiful girl will reappear…hopefully sooner than later.

  2. What a beautiful story! Happy Birthday to your DD.

  3. Happy birthday to dd – and cheers to you!

  4. Happy Birthday to Grace, who is still a sweet beautiful girl… when she wants to be. 😉 😛

    Here’s to you as well! 🙂

  5. Hey – Happy Solstice to you!

    And Happy Birthday to your DD.

    Blogs make me so happy because it is such a great way to keep in touch with the lives of those we love & admire although for some reason we don’t have time to actually visit! 🙂

  6. Happy birthday to Grace, and happy Yule to all!

Leave a Reply

