How Bizarre

I’m a New Englander by choice. I like the changing seasons. I even like the occasional blizzard and nor’easters we get in these parts. I admit I do bitch about the cold and snow starting sometime in late January, early February. But this year there is little to bitch about. Saturday it was a record breaking 68F in Boston. I had all my windows and door open to let in the fresh air. Even my forsythia are confused and look like they are about to burst into bloom. It’s just too bizarre.

And still our government denies that there is a global warming problem?

A chunk of ice the size of Mahattan, and 3000+ years old breaks off the Canadian Ice Shelf and is now a free floating iceberg, but there is nothing to this climate change science. What is it going to take?

I have also come to realize that I need the occasional snowy day. To make soup, put on my sweats and woolly socks, then just hang out watching old movies and knitting. I need snow!

Sunday was just a nice, and was spent hanging out with about 2 dozen spinners at the St. Distaff Day celebration in Westford. It was really nice to see so many people, and so many different wheels all chatting and laughing and sharing.

I was spinning some fugly merino superwash that I had dyed. It was fugly roving (chartreuse, cherry red and gun metal grey).

dscf2069.JPG

This was my last batch of dyeing for the day and was getting a bit sloppy and I had run out of white vinegar so I had substituted cider vinegar. So some of the colors had melded, or separated, making a variety of blues, purples, reds, and oranges. I figured I would just spin it up and knit some fugly socks out of it for myself. The bizarre thing was, it is spinning up into this really beautiful heathery mix, and people kept commenting on how pretty it was. I guess it just goes to show the magic of dyeing fibers and spinning them up. You just don’t know how it’s really going to turn out.

 dscf2084.JPG

Sorry for the blurry photo.  I’m just not very good at close-ups

Here is some of the other stuff I dyed and spun up.

 

 

dscf2082.JPG

And some other fleece that I dyed.

 

dscf2078.JPG


I really love space-dyed hand-painted fleece spun up.  You just never know how it’s going to turn out.  Of course this has lead me into temptation and I bought more dye colors.  Watch for Fuchsia and Chartreuse coming your way soon!

4 responses to “How Bizarre

  1. I gotta send you some pix — I got a couple of decent ones of you spinning. (“Decent” in my case means containing the intended subject and not hopelessly blurred.)

    The alchemy of spinning is a wonderful thing. I love that blue/purple roving (you knew I would) and can’t wait to see how it turns out.

    We must remember our cameras tomorrow.

  2. Beautiful – all of it. You amaze me with the spinning and the dyeing and how you still manage to find time to actually knit stuff in the midst of it all! Can’t wait to see the next colors – and, like Lucia, I’m loving that blue/purple 🙂

  3. love your roaving, especially the top picture. Reminds me of fall in western mass. 🙂 Can’t wait to see what comes next

  4. No snow days until AFTER the concert!!! I can’t spare a single day of working with my kids! 🙂

    I bought the Louet this weekend. It’s at Dave’s house, because I don’t have room for it right now, but now I am really excited for SPA! 🙂

Leave a Reply

