Baby it’s cold outside

B-r-r-r-r-r! Winter has finally arrived with a bitter blast of really cold weather from the Arctic. It’s almost too cold to snow. I also just noticed the DD left this morning at 6:40am to catch the bus and her coat is here, draped over the chair. How can you leave the house in this bitter cold without a COAT!!!???

Since today is my work from home day, I’ve got a pot of beef stock simmering on the stove. I just love the beef and chicken stock recipes from The Silver Palate Good Times Cookbook. I just have to decide if I want to make beef barley or onion soup tonight for dinner. Yummo! I think I’ll bake some bread too.

Last night I actually dragged myself with the wheel to spinning group and plan to try to finish up the fuggly roving tonight for Friday Night Spinning.

I also started a We Call Them Pirates hat for DD. in black and bright blue. I modified the pattern for the band liner. Instead of a provisional cast on, knitting the hat then going back to add the band liner, I knit the liner for about 2 1/2 to 3 inches, then started with the main color and pattern. Once I get up to approx 3 inches in the pattern, I’ll just pickup the cast on edge stitches of the band and knit them in. No sewing and no provisional cast on. It looks neater and it’s easier in the long run. Personally I think it looks neater when finished.

2 responses to “Baby it’s cold outside

  1. Let me know how your approach to the Pirates works out – I printed out the pattern a while back. The provisional cast on band sounds like a bit of a pain in the arse…I like your idea.

  2. good idea on the edge thing – the mittens are my current obsession, will try hat soon.

    cheers,
    Liz

Leave a Reply

