Recovery is a painful thing

My poor laptop got some nasty virus late last week.  I have no idea how.  One would think with all the firewalls, anti-virus protections, etc. that it would be immune, but alas something got to it and got it good.

After many attempts to inoculate, and rid my laptop of said virus with no success I had to call in the professionals idiots from our IS department.  Their solution was to do a brain wipe of the PC.  Ok… but should it take an entire day?!  Me thinks not.  I handed over my pc in the morning with much trepidation and finally got it back late Friday afternoon.

I still had to spend most of today reinstalling applications, etc. and trying to get my PC back into some usable form. 

Sigh… it’s been long and painful.

Fortunately a few weeks ago my company was giving away some memory sticks and I managed to snag one.  Of course the first thing I did was to copy all of the knitting patterns I’ve collected on-line over the years had stored on my laptop. 

See there is a knitting goddess!

This weekend I did very little.  One of my fingers was hurting, I suspect a touch of arthritis, but fortunately it did not impact my knitting too badly.

I moved along quite nicely on the Ene’s Shawl, but alas I’ve determined there will not be enough of this yarn to finish it.  Pooh.  I did find some beautiful shiny coppery silk in a lace-weight in my stash, but I just don’t see it for this pattern.   So,  tonight, I’m going to dig through the stash to see what else I can find to do this shawl in. 

I also felt compelled to purchase the book Victorian Lace Today  when I was at Border’s SnB Sunday afternoon.  The song of the lace siren is very very compelling.  So although I may be on a stash diet.  I’m never on a book one.

Hot off the presses!

 The Wednesday SnB ladies can now participate fully and start the American Team of Drunken Knitters

See the Java Room’s announcement!

The Java Room is excited to announce the introduction of fine wines and spirits at our cafe!  We are serving a special selection of red and white wines, as well as coffee cocktails.  A sample of what you’ll sip:

** A Chilean Cabernet Sauvignon, a Sonoma Valley Pinot Noir, an Italian Pinot Grigio, a German Riesling…and for those interested in something warm, a Cafe Mudslide, a B-52 Mocha, a Spiced Chai Lullaby, and many more! **

We will debut the new liquor line on Valentine’s Day, this coming Wednesday.  Please bring your sweetheart all day long for drinks, decadent cupcakes from the famous NYC Magnolia Bakery (you may have heard about them from Sex and the City) and other food fare.  Pianist Richard Schubert from Methuen will entertain us from 7:30 to 9pm with standards and show tunes from the 30s, 40s, and 50s, as well as swing and jazz.

See you soon,

The Java Room 

14 Littleton Road
Chelmsford, MA

3 responses to “Recovery is a painful thing

  1. You are a cockeyed optimist if you think we will all make it to the Javaroom Wed. We can always hope, I guess. Meanwhile, let’s hear it for preserved patterns! And send that storm westerly thoughts. (The farther west it comes, the more rain and less snow we get. Cold rain may be chilling, but at least it doesn’t need to be shoveled.)

  2. I’m going to stop by the java room on my way home from work on Wednesday just for one of those cupcakes! 🙂
    Next week… we will commence the first weekly meeting of the Drunken Snarky Knitter’s Society!

  3. OMG I have been reading about Drunken Knitters and thinking that truly, this is a practice we American knitters must embrace! LOL! For those who like movies with their drinkin’ and knittin’, there is also a Chunky’s up here in Nashua…too bad Notes on a Scandal has already moved on!

Leave a Reply

