Oh the weather outside if frightful…

The snow started around midnight last night.  Just a light snow.  I awoke around 5am to the sound of sleet hitting the roof.  There was only about 2 inches of snow, but the sleet is still coming down.

Fortunately today is a scheduled work from home day, so I didn’t have to brave the roads.  Listening to the local news, this was a good thing.  Accidents on all the highways around my town.

According to the local reports, the sleet will last most of the day and then turn to more snow and possibly rain, then by the time the home commute starts we are supposed to plummet into a deep freeze.  Can you say skating rink?  I think I would prefer the original 2 feet of snow predicted.

I don’t think I’ll be making it to the Java Room SnB tonight – even though the thought of yummy cupcakes and spiked coffee drinks are calling.

I’ve put some homemade beef veggie and barley soup on to simmer.  I’ve had my scheduled conference call, and I’ve even blocked my sweater, although I’m not sure I’m going to like it… it still may get frogged, I’m hoping that the blocking helps.

I did go spinning last night and along with a couple of regulars, some new people came.  I tried spinning some of the wenslydale fleece the shepard brought us a few months ago, but I decided I didn’t like it.  It feels so soft, but spins up very coarse.  Not to mention all the second cuts I kept having to pick out.  I might try washing it and then combing to see if that makes a difference.

This weekend is SPA!!! I cannot wait. I’ve already planned to take Friday off, so I can spend the day cleaning out and packing the car.  After school I’ll drop DD off at the fairy odd parents and then I’m off.  Hopefully the storm will be over and the roads clear and dry. It does look like it’s going to be bitter cold again this year in Portland.  Br-r-r-r!

2 responses to “Oh the weather outside if frightful…

  1. Hey! It must be a Christmas theme today. I titled my blog entry with a Christmas carol too! We are staying home today too. Stay safe!

  2. I stayed in yesterday and knit and napped most of the day. Good way to spend a snow day.

    One day til SPA! Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

