For the love of spinning

Helen, challenged us in the NETA-SpinningForShipsProject to show our wheels and to tell our stories.

I’ve been a knitaholic and fiber lover for many years now and about three years ago the siren song of spinning started calling to me.  So I searched and found a weekend learn to spin work shop at the Fiber Loft close to my home, so I signed up.  Ann was a wonderful teacher and had us spinning (in the grease) in no time.  I was totally enamoured with the whole process.   At that time I wasn’t in the position to buy a wheel, so I rented one from the Fiber Loft for a month.  But by the time the month was over I knew that I had to have a wheel of my very own.

Since this was a pretty big investment for me, I started looking, on the web, locally, I even drooled over the various models of wheel they have a Halcyon when I was vacationing on Hermit Island near Bath.

I wanted something that was easy for beginners, didn’t take up a lot of space, and had the ability to grow as my abilities improved.  After lots of research and checking out various wheels, I finally fell in love with the Lendrum DT.  I have not been disappointed.  She may not be as pretty as some wheels, but she’s a durable workhorse and she spins like a dream.  Adding a WooLee Winder this year was just icing on the cake. 

Here’s my love.

my-wheel.jpg

She travels with me to SPA, to spinning bees, and spinning nights.  She really gets around.

Currently I am spinning some lovely brown corriedale for the NETA-SpinningForShipsProject.  I’m on my second bobbin and should be plying this weekend.

wotb.jpg

This is going to make a lovely square or two for the afghan.  I think I’m on target for the correct wpi (at least I hope I am!)  If you are interested in knitting a square for the project from this let me know.

3 responses to “For the love of spinning

  1. Beautiful ! Really lovely !
    thanks so much for this and for all you do to make NETA such a nice “place” to visit.
    Helen

  2. Wonderful post. Thanks for the inspiration. That is a lovely wheel, and maybe the type of wheel I will upgrade to. Can’t wait to see the squares for the afghan.

  3. Hi. I’m not sure if I already responded to your question about my eyelet edging on the Great American Aran Afghan, but thought I’d rather answer twice than not at all. The eyelet edging did indeed take a lot less yarn than the large cabled edging. That was one of the advantages for me, as I did not have enough yarn (3.5 skeins x 220 yds) to complete the cabled version — and, I did not want the extra weight. I do not remember how much mine took, but less than 2 skeins I believe.

Leave a Reply

