Two Bags Full

 dscf2197.jpg

First Bag Full (Madeline)

dscf2198.jpg

Second Bag Full (Caroline)

Saturday the sun came out so I decided to head off to the Connecticut Sheep and Wool Festival.  It a small festival, but I knew I could get through it and then be off to do my errands and chores.

I’m always drawn to the fleece sales, but fortunately managed to refrain.  Then I got to the last barn and back in the corner was Connecticut Alpaca and Tree Farm.  She had bags of alpaca fleece and once I touched it I couldn’t resist.  I was going to get a pound each of Madeline (red) and Caroline (grey) – but the owner weighed the bags (over 2 pounds each) and gave them to me for the one pound price!  Such a deal!  I could barely wait to get home to spin some up.

The red is a bit dusty, with a very small bit of vm and a few second cuts, but it is so soft that if you touched it with your eyes closed you would think it was cashmere.

The grey is lovely and soft as well, but I haven’t had a chance to take it out of the bag to look it over.

UPDATE:

Apparently I do have my camera with me today 🙂

It’s a bit blurry, but look at those cute faces.  I think someone needs to breed miniature Alpaca so I can have a couple for house pets 🙂

 dscf2193.jpg

7 responses to “Two Bags Full

  1. How in the world did I manage to not see you at all. We were there from 9 until 3:30.

  2. What a deal! I’m sure it’s absolutely luscious. 🙂

  3. That is so great. I am glad that the weather held up for you. What wonderful items to get. I can’t wait to see them.

  4. The fiber is beautiful. Can’t wait to see it spun.

  5. FABULOUS deal. Also, um, for a sec I thought the tuft of white peeking out of the grey bagful was an ear. Like maybe you snuck a wee critter home with you. Hee, hee 🙂

  6. Dont ya just love alpaca? So nice to spin! We raised them for years.. just sold our last one this past fall.. enjoy it.

    Oh, PS.. when buying alpaca fleece, always haggle HARD. Most of those people that have alpacas have more fleece than they’ll ever know what to do with OR be able to sell (ask me how I know) ::laughing:: It’s a crime what some of it sells for.. I never could do that and always just ended up giving mine away!!

  7. MMMM…alpaca is a good thing.

    And guess what?? They already make mini llamas/alpacas. They are adorable! Take a look: http://www.minnesotaminis.com/

Leave a Reply

