Is it time to go home yet?

Man this week seems to be lasting forever.  I am really looking forward to the upcoming long weekend for sure.

Tonight is Spinning in Westford night.  I’ve been a spinning fool lately (sorry no pics yet) and after much swatching I’ve started knitting a lace shawl from the lovely alpaca (Madeline).  It’s just lovely.  So soft, nice halo.  I picked the freebie pattern Fir Cone Shawl by Fruitcake Knits and I think it’s going to be beautiful.

I’m also knitting on my second sock – plain stockinette, slip stitch heel, in CTH Dusk.  DD wound the skein for me and made a horrible tangled mess that I ended up cutting.  I did get most of it wound into a ball, now I’m just hoping I don’t have to try to untangle that mess to finish the toe of the second sock.

Friday is work from home day! Yahoo – 90ºF,  I’ll get the car cleaned and washed, the yard raked and then in the evening my sister and I are dragging the girls to see Pirates of the Caribbean – At Worlds End.  Yes, you may recall that I am a huge stalkerfan of Johnny Depp.  He just makes me swoon and my heart skip a beat no matter what character he is playing, but there is something very special about Capt. Jack Sparrow.  I cannot wait to see Keith Richard’s too – what a pair they make eh?  Anybody see this months Rolling Stone?!  I had to hide if from my daughter so I could swoon over read it first. 

Saturday is supposed to be gorgeous.  I got invited to my dear friend Lynnie’s to eat, drink, be merry, and ride lawn chairs on Saturday.  Since I have not seen my sisterfriends Lynnie, Patty, and Cathy in ages and ages, this is how I am going to spend my day.  I’ll probably be burnt to a crisp and perfectly toasted by Saturday night with any luck and my sides are sure to hurt from laughing.  I think I’ll bring my special chicken wings to munch on and a big old potato salad.  I think I will also grab that bottle of tequila for the margies too.  Yes, Saturday is going to be a good day.

Sunday is threatening scatter thunderboomers.  I may get to knitting group – if it’s nice and I’m not hung over, Greely Park would be fun.  If it’s raining I may just pull the covers over my head and stay in bed recovering all day.  Note to self – pick up Coke (the REAL thing) just in case.  I can only drink Coke when I am recovering, oh, and better pick up some Alka Seltzer and Gatorade too.  If you don’t know Alka Seltzer IN Gatorade makes the perfect hangover cure.  Just saying.

So to everyone who celebrates Memorial Day and gets a long weekend – have a blast and stay safe, and to those that don’t – have a blast in a shorter period of time and stay safe.

UPDATE:

 I figured I would share my special tangy wing recipe with you.

8 lbs. of fresh (not frozen) chicken wings

1/4 cup fresh lime juice

1 cup apricot preserves

1 cup soy sauce

4 clove of garlic (at least)

2/3 cup sugar

red pepper flakes to taste (1 tbsp.)

Pre-heat oven to 425F and use two disposable roasting pans as this is very messy to clean up.

Cut the tips off the wings (toss or save for chicken stock), then cut in half to separate the drumlettes from the other part of the wing.  Put a single layer of wings in each pan.

Blend the rest of the ingredients into a blender and pour half over each pan of wings.

Roast for 50 mins. then switch racks and roast for another 45 mins to an hour or until the liquid is thick and sticky.

Serve warm or at room temp.  This recipe should can be doubled.

If you make these wings and invite Libbie you will have to fight her for them or make her a separate batch.

3 responses to “Is it time to go home yet?

  1. YUM! We are big chicken wingers around here and those sound fantastic. Maybe I’ll give em a whirl this weekend. BTW, the NH news says no rain till evening on Sun – keep your fingers crossed.

  2. Have a great Memorial Weekend!

  3. Wasn’t Pirates 3 AMAZING?!?

Leave a Reply

