Just another crazy weekend

Friday night my friend Alicia and I sneaked some wine coolers into the movies.  We saw Waitress and it was hilarious.  Definitely a two thumbs up chic-flick and who could resist a OB that looked like this!  Consider this Eye Candy Monday.

nathan-fillion.jpg

Nathan Fillion

Be still my heart.  We laughed, we cried, we hated the asshat husband played by Jeremy Sisto of Six Feet Under fame.  He does play a great bad guy. 

Saturday was an exercise in complete frustration.  It was supposed to start raining and I still needed to get some yard stuff done.  So I got out my handy dandy electric trimmers, to trim the front shrubs.  I got half way through and zip! accidentally cut right through the extension cord.   So I put that away (note to self – buy new outdoor extension cord).  

The next thing on the list was the lawn.  The lawn mower has been not quite right and I wanted to pull the spark plug and try cleaning it up.  So I got out my handy dandy socket set with the special spark plug socket thingie to do this sort of thing, but it doesn’t fit…  it’s too short and it appears to small.  WFT!  Apparently spark plugs come in different sizes? who knew?  (note to self look for another spark plug socket thingie at the hardware store when picking up extension cord.) 

At this point the sky is starting to get darker and the rain is eminent, so I figure I would at least finish the raking out of the flower beds on the side of the house.  This is did manage to finish just before it rained.

Now I could have gone to the hardware store (see above notes to self) but since rain is predicted for a few more days, instead I went to Idlewyld Farms.  This is a lovely ‘farm stand’.  I put that in quotes because this is not a typical farm stand.  It’s an upscale farm stand with fresh, ripe, delicious fruits and veggies all year round with a fantastic bakery and beautiful bouquets of flowers.  Instead of hardware, I found fresh plump raspberries, and blueberries, delicious cantelope and watermelon, fresh peaches from California and ripe mangos, fresh picked baby spinach, and real vine ripened tomatoes.  Gooey brie, fresh mozzarella and some basil and even some warm just out of the oven sourdough baguettes.   Then I stopped at the grocery store.  My grocery basket looked pretty pathetic with only some meat, paper plates, and cat food.

Once home DD and I had a lovely dinner of fresh bread, cheese, sliced deli meat and veggies with fresh fruit for dessert. YUMMO!  I love this time of year when everything tastes so fresh and good.

After the early dinner, I finally opened a box that had arrived on Friday but I hadn’t a minute to open it before then.  It was my lovely dark grey shetland roving that I had purchased from Kathy off the spin list.   It’s a good thing I didn’t open this in the morning, but then again I probably wouldn’t have cut through my extension cord.  Of course nothing else would have got done either.

I finally sat down to do some spinning and watch the Red Sox.  At least it was the game they won in the series.  The shetland is just lovely to spin and compliments the light grey that I spun early.  Since they are both spinning up lace/fingering weight, I think a shawl is definitely in order and I think the Feather and Fan Triangle Shawl from Folk Shawls will be lovely.

Sunday was a nasty damp drizzly day, so there was nothing to do but go to the Nashua Borders and hang out with other knitters.  I finished up knitting the cool purse I am going to felt.  More on that later.

Until then, let me leave you with DDs latest rendition of our family

family.jpg

One response to “Just another crazy weekend

  1. Love Grace’s renderings, especially her hair and Rocky’s face. I also love a great farm stand – just got some great stuff at mine as well. So hard to settle for the grocery after that!

Leave a Reply

