Surprises

Wednesday night my brother and nephew flew in from New Mexico to surprise us.  My sister and I knew ahead of time, so it really was to surprise Mom and Dad.  My brother is back to take his electrician 15 hour class to maintain his license here.  This means my sister and I get our nephew for the weekend!  We decided to take all the cousins to the Cape!  Yay!

I have been busy spinning and knitting – most of the photos I took however disappeared when my DD ‘borrowed’ my camera.  Apparently MY photos are of no importance, but the bazillion ones of her making faces are.

greyshetlandclose.jpg

Here is a close up of the 2-ply grey shetland I finally finished and skeined up.  It’s a beautiful soft dark grey shetland.  I resisted spinning shetland thinking it would be scratchy and coarse, but I’ll tell you there is some nice soft shetland out there.

I decided to knit the Fan and Feather Shawl from the Folk Shawls book from the shetland, so of course that meant I needed to acquire some additional roving to spin.  I found some white and black at the Copper Moose, that should be arriving shortly.  So I am thinking of starting at the top with the white, then graduating to light grey, dark grey and ending with the black.  At least that is the plan for now.

I’ve also knit some socks, not pairs, just singles… what’s up with that?   I think it’s all the lovely sock yarn that’s been coming my way and apparently I have ADHD when it comes to sock yarn and my attention is easily swayed from one to another.   Of course it doesn’t help when I get my STR Sock Club yarn in a stunningly beautiful color – Firebird!  No spoilers from me, but I may need to knit these up for my friend Paula (aka Phoenix)  – they are so her!  I just need to finish off some mates first.

I’m also about 1/3 of the way through my Red Scarf project.  I really need to get going on this since rumor has it they’ve bumped up the submission date due to an overwhelming response and they want to get them delivered before winter starts.  Although I like the sentiment of presenting them on Valentine’s Day and the reason the scarves are all some shade of red, I can see their point.

Other secret surprise knitting is almost completed – no more can be revealed at this time.

Oh and another surprise news!  A Wednesday knitter announced she is expecting in November which can only mean BABY KNITTING ahead!  Yay!  I keep seeing all these adorable baby items on the various blogs.  Now I just have to decide what to knit.

Then there is the Mystery Stole 3 that I’ve joined.  I swatched the black laceweight Skacel Merino I had in my stash.  It also calls for beads.  Which I have avoided in knitting but I think this will be my nudge into beaded knitting.  So I was thinking of a colored bead to pop on the black.  What do you think of Chartreuse beads on black?

With all this going on, I don’t know when I’ll get to my holiday gift knitting.  Maybe I’ll just give hanks of my handspun with knitting needles and a pattern this year.  Hmmmm, that may not be a bad idea.   The year of enabling?  LOL

One response to “Surprises

  1. Chartreuse on black sounds great. Also I am very jealous of you STRs at the moment – this month’s yarn is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

