Crazy

Yes, it’s that crazy time of year. You want to know where the hell did the summer go? It’s August already!

Over the weekend I broke yet another tooth. I hate that my body is falling apart, especially my teeth. It makes me ill to think of all the money I keep pouring into my teeth. Had I invested that money into fiber… well lets just say it would be an indecent stash, the envy of everyone.

Last night I went to another Spinner’s game – I love that our local team is named for Spinner’s – check out their logo! Unfortunately they did not win last night… and this was supposed to be a morale builder for our group of about 30 – only 16 tickets were sold and only 3 of us showed up. Granted it had been raining that afternoon, but the evening was perfectly wonderful. This is why I refer to my fellow employees as COW-orkers, after a friends miss-spelling many years ago. But cow-ORKER seems a fitting description.

It was good I took my knitting but got very little done, since we were sitting in the pop-fly area and I had to keep my wits about me.

I did finish spinning the raspberry colored superwash roving. I’m going to ply it tonight if I get a chance.

Look ahead at the week we are are going to see Bob Weir and the Rat Dogs on Sunday in Lowell at Boarding House Park.

I’m almost finished with my Monkey Socks 🙂 I really like this pattern a lot, although next time when I make them for me I won’t take the pattern down into the foot. I dislike that feeling in my shoes. But I will definitely knit this pattern again. I will need to add an extra pattern chunk to get them over my fat feet, but I think that will work out just fine. I wonder if anyone else has embiggened the Monkey Sock 🙂

My Mystery Stole is still sitting awaiting the frog pond. I really do want to finish this, but knowing the Theme has sort of taken the wind out of my sails. I think the pattern as designed with the wing will be very dramatic and beautiful so I want to do this right, eventually. But I need to restart this project soon, just not right now.

Part of wanting to procrastinate on the Mystery Shawl is that I am already starting to panic about the holidays. Only 139 days until Christmas. If you need to know exactly how long check here. I really would like to do an afghan for my Dad. He is always cold and would love it to toss over himself while watching TV. Hmmmm I wonder if there are Shawls for men, what do you think? Probably not… that is probably where the afghan or lap blanket came into being.

And I really, really, really want to knit a sweater for me. A big oversized comfortable slouchy sweater. I’m looking so if you have any ideas or suggestions send them my way. I’m thinking raglan sleeves, maybe 6 x 2 rib pattern. I’m not sure about the body, but no turtlenecks. I hate turtlenecks.

Vacation is getting closer. We are still planning on heading off to Hermit Island for a week, one of the last two weeks in August. I just hope the weather is nice and dry this year.

And finally the reason that there are no pictures in this post is that I have purchased two, yes that is TWO xD memory card readers, since the proverbial ‘someone’ used the camera and broke the usb pins so I cannot connect the camera directly. Any way both of these readers crapped out after one use. I’ve ordered a third, keep your fingers crossed. I’m not sure if the USB port I am plugging them into is frying them, or they are just cheap junk – probably both. They seem to work once then never again.

Oh and one final notice/reminder:

The Westford spinning group is resuming their twice monthly meetings, starting on Tuesday, August 14th. I can hardly wait!

3 responses to “Crazy

  1. Have fun at Lowell!

  2. Thanks for the update on the spinning group. Can’t wait to see all of you again. I will try to make it for the 14th.

  3. Yikes, not a lot of time left till Christmas! And so much yarn. I won’t be able to knit on a Sunday again until the 26th 😦 Can’t wait to see your Mystery Stole.

Leave a Reply

