How I Spent My Summer Vacation and part of the weekend

popham2.jpg

Popham Beach, Maine – Wading at low tide searching for shells and sand dollars

popham5.jpg

Popham Beach, Maine – the quintessential New England Beach

popham7.jpg

popham6.jpg

popham-fort-5.jpg

Fort Popham, Maine

popham-fort-3.jpg

popham-fort2.jpg

morning-glory-2.jpg

Morning Glory – I want to dye fiber to match this.

morning-glory.jpg

Or this

saturday-sky.jpg

Not a Saturday Sky but this was the sun set we saw on our first night of camping.

Now for the fiber content….

I did get to Borders for knitting on Sunday. I got to meet Brian (hi Brian!) and Kathy (Hi Kathy!) and Kali (Hi Kali!). Brian is knitting this gorgeous Pi Shawl – see his blog for in progress pictures. It was a nasty rainy day, but perfect for meeting new knitting friends and hot chai tea lattes. I worked for a bit on a sock and started a plain and simple raglan cardigan out of the Cascade yarn I got at Webs awhile ago. I really want to finish the Mystery stole, but I seam to have lost steam. I guess now that there is no longer a mystery, I’ve lost that loving feeling.

Other weekend news:

Mary and I had our annual Salsa making Saturday. We canned 20 pints of yummy salsa. Here’s the approximate recipe.

12 -15 cups peeled, seeded and chopped ripe tomatoes

3-5 cups of chopped onions (a mix of sweet and bermuda)

1 1/4 cups fresh squeezed lime juice

2-3 bunches of cilantro chopped

salt, pepper, cumin to taste

4 large poblano chilis, roasted, peeled, seeded and chopped

6-7 jalepeno peppers, roasted, peeled seeded and chopped

**** forgot to add  *****

2 heads of crushed garlic

 

I think this is the best salsa yet.

I also made Chicken Enchilladas for supper and heres the recipe for those

Saute on med-high heat one medium chopped onion in olive oil until translucent, add 2 cloves of garlic minced.

Add in 3 tablespoons chili powder, 2 tsp. cumin, and 2 tsp. ground corriander – saute until you can smell the spices.

Then 2 cups of cooked shredded chicken (I just bought a roasted chicken from the store), stir until chicken is coated with the spice mixture

Add 2 – 8oz. cans of tomato sauce, and 2/3 cup of chicken broth

Turn down heat to medium and simmer until chicken is heated

Pour this mixture into a mesh strainer and push as much of the sauce into a bowl.

Heat oven to 350F

While that is draining. Heat your (10) corn tortillas, by placing them on a cookie tray and spraying them with cooking oil spray and heating them in the oven for 4 minutes.

To the chicken, add 1/2 cup of pickled jalapenos chopped and 2 tbsp of chopped fresh cilantro.

Prepare a 8 x 12 baking dish, by spooning in and coating the bottom of the dish with some of the sauce.

Take your torilla, and spoon in about 1/4 cup of the chicken mixture, add some shredded chedder jack cheese, roll them up and place the seam side down into the baking dish. Once you have rolled all your enchilladas and put them into the dish, pour the rest of the sauce over them and top with more cheddar jack cheese.

Bake for 20 – 25 minutes.

Top with shredded lettuce, fresh chopped avocado, sour cream and of course some homemade salsa.

Black beans and spanish rice made this a really yummy dinner.

7 responses to “How I Spent My Summer Vacation and part of the weekend

  1. Gorgeous photos! Looks like a wonderful vacation.

  2. Love the pics! Nothing like the blues and greys of a New England beach. Glad you had a nice vacation – summer ended too soon!

  3. What unbelievable pictures… I think I’ve been there, once upon a time. We’ve turned into more lake than ocean people, but I do love the ocean now and then.

    I want to get all those colors into one batch of roving.

  4. Maine must be lovely-photos don’t lie!

  5. It looks like a really great time. And I’ve GOT to get to that fort. Thanks for the photos, inspiration and link.

  6. Oh how I love Popham Beach! You lucky dog you! There is nothing finer than the Ocean…

    Salsa sounds yummy too!

  7. Beautiful stone pics – omg; I *love* that look!
    On your wish to dye a colour resembling the purple Morning Glory — the outter deep purple looks “Logwood” to me, Alum mordant.
    Are you interested in Natural Plant dyes? I moved from drop spindle to natural dyes to spining wheel and rigid heddle, so the pre-dyed rovings are something of a guilty treat for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

