The frost is on the pumpkin

Br-r-r it’s been cold in the morning and there has even been a little frost. I’m trying to get myself psyched for the coming of winter.

Autumn has always been one of my favorite seasons. There is just something magical with the colors of the leaves and the hint of fog, the smell of apples and fresh baked bread. It makes me want to put a big pot of soup on the stove and bake an apple pie.

BTW, I am currently searching for the quintessential cream of mushroom soup, so if you have a yummy recipe please let me know.

Last Friday night was fun. I met up with Jennifer and we worked on one of the badges (the drinking and knitting badge). I think there needs to be a Drinking II Badge, because I am sure we met the requirements.  We met at Chili’s and I enjoyed Marguaritas (yes that is plural!) and some nachos. I got about 4 inches on the back of the raglan sweater done only to notice at some point I had made a mistake at the beginning of that four inches. I figured I would just fix it at a later date, when I was a bit more clear headed and a bit more patient. Unfortunately when I finally was ready to deal with it, I looked a bit closer and it appears at that point I got my work turned around and had started knitting in the wrong direction. Poop! so I  ended up frogging the entire 4 inches. LOL!

Saturday I spent the day spinning up more handpainted superwash. Saturday night I met up with the Bride-to-be and Bridesmaids for a bacherlorette party. We went to La Carreta, my favorite mexican place. Of course this meant more Marguaritas. Sunday was a quiet day.

Here are the pics of all the spinning I’ve been doing. It’s all pretty much medium sock weight.  So you see I have been busy.

blueberry.jpg

mixed-berries.jpg

monets-garden.jpg

south-seas.jpg

sweet-lavender.jpg

watermelon-slushie.jpg

pucks-fall.jpg

The colors are pretty close, I know my photos suck, but at least you can get an idea that I have actually been doing some spinning. Only 2 more bumps of the superwash to go. One is almost done and I should be able to finish up and ply it tonight.

Note: Spell check is not working, so I apologize for the typos in advance.

6 responses to “The frost is on the pumpkin

  1. Your spinning is lovely. I love the variety in colors. You’ve been very busy. I especially love the rosy green one. And your spelling is fine.

  2. The colors of your yarn are gorgeous!!

    I saw Ina Garten make this over the weekend and it looks easy and delicious. Mel Brooks was the “mystery guest” and he loved it 🙂

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/food/recipes/recipe/0,1977,FOOD_9936_70288,00.html

  3. The yarns look wonderful. I especially love the Monet’s garden colorway.

  4. Here’s my mushroom onion soup. Easy to omit the onion if you don’t like it.

    http://cena.ladefoged.org/food/recipes/mushsoup.htm

  5. The spinning is gorgeous! I think I’ll be able to get started again once I plow through all this birthday knitting. Can’t wait! Cream of mushroom soup sounds delicious. I’ve made it a time or two but I don’t recall ever having a recipe I deemed a keeper.

  6. oh.my.GAWD! You spinning is lovely! Lovely! I think the one 2nd from the bottom is my fav. No wait, the 4… no, no the 6. No! the 3! Oh, hell all of them are my fav! 😉

Leave a Reply

