Autumn Colors and Love Songs

The leaves are just starting to get that tinge of color. Every turn in the road will occasionally surprise you with a tree or bush in full blown technicolor. It’s one of my favorite seasons. I love when it’s warm and the sun seems to give everything a golden glow. I also like when it’s grey, rainy, dank and damp. It’s the perfect put-on-a-pot-of-soup weather and I just want to immerse myself in all things fibery.

I just got my confirmation/reminder for the Rhinebeck Yarn Safari. This is going to be soooo much fun. I’m getting ready for the winter. I’m planning on lots of big snow storms that keep me inside with all my fibery stuff to spin and knit.

This weekend is going to be really nice in the weather department, which will be perfect for the big wedding on Saturday. Darling Daughter is really excited to be singing at the reception. She chose the song “Come Away With Me” by Nora Jones. She really does an awesome job and it’s a really perfect song.

Speaking of DD’s singing. She’s been practicing ‘Fever’ by Peggy Lee too. Apparently she sang it for the rest of the chorus and nobody else wants to go out for the solo now. I’m just so happy for her. That she has this big talent that gives her something to be proud of. It just blows me away that she has this big, sultry, adult singing voice.

She’s doing really well with keeping up with her school work and I am really looking forward to the first progress report coming out next week. I’m really hoping we have something to celebrate.

Speaking of celebrating I have a finished object. My Just Like a Peasant Hat . I tried to take pics with my camera phone but they didn’t come out at all. Photos to follow.

Some notes on my hat: I did it in Malabrigo worsted – using only a single strand. The only alteration I made to squeak this hat out of one skein was I only cast on 16 stitches for the band instead of 20 and I did a K1, (P1, Ktbl) repeat to end and this made the width almost the same as the 20 stitches and it looks just fine. It took one complete skein with only a few little scraps for the birdies left over. Because I did it single stranded it’s a little more floppy which is what I was going for.

4 responses to “Autumn Colors and Love Songs

  1. YOU’RE GOING ON YARN SAFARI???!!!
    You lucky one! I’m on her mailing list, too, and was really wanting to get out there. (I hate crowds, so that’s what stopped me.) Can’t wait to see some photos and the haul you bring back.

  2. Yes, enjoy the stress-free ride! Looks like dh will be chauffering me out for a “child-free” weekend. At least I can knit on the way. And kudos to Grace!

  3. To have a beautiful voice is truly a gift from God. I wish I could carry a tune. I can’t even sing Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star. It’s truly pitiful.

  4. sweet! See you at Rhinebeck! : )

Leave a Reply

