Now we’re cooking…

What a crazy weekend…  Friday we watched the Red Sox game.  I kept text messaging the score to my brother in Albuquerque, NM.  He was at the annual Hot Air Balloon festival with my nephew, Jeffrey.

Saturday was fun filled too.  I got up early to get the roast into the crockpot.  I was really in the mood for pot roast.  Friends were coming over around noon for our annual trek to the Watertown Bead Show.

Here is what I tossed into the pot.

1 small bag of carrots, cut up into 1-2 inch chunks

1 small bag of parsnips, cut up into 1-2 inch chunks.

2 small onions peeled and sliced into thick (1/4 inch) slices

salt and pepper the 2.5 lb. pot (chuck) roast and seared in olive oil

a couple of crush garlic cloves

a couple of handfuls of sliced mushrooms

1 tbsp. Dijon mustard

2 tsp. greek seasoning

1 cup of apple cider

2 beef bullion cubes

Cooked on slow for a couple of hours, then bumped up to high for about 3 hours.

I served this with:

fresh greenbeans, cooked for a few minutes in salted boiling water to keep them crunchy.

buttered and added some olive oil and the juice of one fresh lemon, then tossed with

sea salt, greek seasoning, fresh cracked black pepper and chopped fresh mint.

and

Roasted potatoes (yukon gold) in 1 inch pieces, tossed in olive oil, fresh chopped rosemary, sea salt and fresh cracked pepper.

Unfortunately I had invited a new friend and failed to remember he was vegan… at least he was able to eat the potatoes, green beans and rolls.  Oh and the apple pie for dessert.

I used the perfect pie crust recipe from this month’s Cooks Illustrated.  Using vodka for part of the liquid worked great.  The crust was yummy.

I had finished knitting my Witchypoo hat and had finished felting it up.  I looks awesome so far.  The brim is a bit heavier than I had wished for, but it will suffice.  If I were to do this again, I think I would do something different for the brim.  The rest of the hat looks awesome.

I started needle felting on it and picked up some really cool sterling silver things to embellish the hat.  No pics until it’s done.

By the time we got home from the bead show, the dinner was almost done.

For appetizers we had brie cheese and crackers with fig and ginger preserves.

I don’t think any of us went hungry.  LOL

Unfortunately I tried to watch the Sox game after everyone had left but couldn’t stay awake.  It was for the best that I missed the extra inning blowout.

Sunday I got the kitchen back in order, and the dishes all put away.  I  even managed to make it to Borders Nashua for Sunday knitting.  I even got to meet some new knitters,  well actually new people who knit – it appears that they have been knitting for awhile.  Nice to meet you ladies!

This coming Saturday RHINEBECK!!!!

Leave a Reply

