It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

What a mess it was getting home in the snow yesterday.  At 12:30pm I saw two flakes, at 12:35 it was a blizzard.  All reports were guesstimating 10 to 12 inches with a peak snow fall rate of 2 inches per hour.   I finally packed up at 1:15pm to start the trek home, which is usually a 25 minute drive on back roads.

Fortunately my DD had early dismissal and I had given her strict instructions to go immediately home, which she did, along with six other teens who were now effectively stuck at my house.

I could see from my office window as I headed out, that the highway was stopped, so I decided to take the back roads as usual.  THREE HOURS later as I am getting closer to home, I managed to get through to the Pizza place near my house and ordered up 4 large pizzas to take home to the hungry hordes.

I finally pulled into the driveway at 4:35pm and got into the house with hot pizzas which the kids devoured in minutes.

We called all the parents and explained that the kids were safe, warm and fed, then we dragged out all the air mattresses, sleeping bags and blankets and the kids set up camp in the living-room to watch movies.  Whether they slept or not, I don’t know, but I went to bed early and just hid stayed in my room, along with the horrified cats.

This morning I roused the kids and got them up and out, digging out the cars and I believe they all made it to school somewhat close to on time.

I didn’t even stop to look at the mess that awaits me when I get home tonight.

Needless to say cookies did not get made and I’m a day behind in my projects.  ACK!

5 responses to “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

  1. What a slog, eh? But I bet those kids made great memories hanging out at your house like that.

  2. Yikes – that is a whole lot of teenager! (You are a very gracious mom.) I’m sure the kids had a blast, the extent of which will be apparent in the cleanup. Maybe you should consider making rum cakes tonight instead of cookies 🙂

  3. I’m thinking it’s for the best you didn’t make any cookies last night. With a bunch of teenagers in the house they would have been gone today, anyway!

  4. Sorry to hear you got stuck in that mess but at least you got some extra help digging out.

  5. You said catS. Did Rocky come home??

Leave a Reply

