You Can Do It

It seems that every January a plethora of self-help books and other accoutrement appear out of the wood work. I am not a self-help kinda girl, I prefer to slog through what I can change and learn to live with the rest.

But this year a good friend of mine bought some of us You Can Do It! It’s a book on how to earn merit badges for grown up girls. Sadly the author was killed on one of the planes on 9/11 and this book is her legacy.

The first badge we have decided to work on is the “Get Down to the Knitty-Gritty” badge. This is where I will be teaching them all how to knit. Of course this has to be special, so I am going to try to drag them all to the NETA Spa weekend in February. Yes, just call me the enabler – LOL! I thought, wouldn’t it be spectacular to hang out at the Hilton in Freeport on a cold February weekend hanging out in the heated pool and jacuzzi, eating good food, drinking good wine and teaching friends to knit in an all encompassing environment of very friendly fiber fiends. Can you imagine anything more perfect? I think not. I even have a place to stash the teen for the weekend!

It should be fun.

I did get some spinning done during St. Distaff’s Day at the Westford Historical Museum. I did not take pics, sadly. But some can be seen on Lucia, and Julie‘s blogs and of course others (here, and here) and the blogless others who attended. Thank you Penny for opening the museum to us. It was a lot of fun. I will be heading over there this evening to attend our normal bi-monthly meetup. I would love to finish up this colorful roving.

I am also knitting on Jonathan‘s scarf. I’m doing an ultra easy, mindless pattern -30 stitches cast on, two rows – row 1 K2, P1 repeat and end with a K1. Row 2: P1, (K2, P1, repeat to end) I’m doing it in some of the Debbie Bliss Aran Alpaca Silk I got out at Webs and it’s a smashing red color (per his request). I love this yarn – it is so soft and yummy, perfect for a scarf.  Jonathan is driving cross country in a truck with all his belongings and a sick old dog, and in all this crazy weather. Send out lots of energy so that he arrives safely in Upstate NY sometime near the end of January. He will definitely need the scarf and probably something that will knock him out cold for a week.

red-scarf.jpg

I am almost finished with Grace’s Bag – I ripped out the sweater vest I was knitting in the colorful Noro because she hated it and wanted it knit into a bag instead.

Now she wants me to knit her a dropped stitch sweater. I know there was a way cool guy on out several years ago and I need to find the pattern. If you know which one I am thinking of and know where I can find it please let me know.

Only 45 days until Spa and only 8 until my birthday.

4 responses to “You Can Do It

  1. I think there was one for a guy in Stitch N Bitch Nation. If you don’t have it, let me know – I’m fairly certain that I bought it when it came out.

  2. SPA is only 45 days away? Hoooray!

  3. I can’t believe I forgot about spinning tonight! I wish I saw this post an hour ago. Hope you have fun!

  4. oh, phooey; I finished my paper and turned into a quivering ball of jello. Shoulda gone over. Next time, next time. Sigh.

    And Jena’s right – there is indeed a drop-stitch vest in Stitch N Bitch Nation. L, honey, you want I should drop it off for you, or do you have it already?

Leave a Reply

