Soft and Squishy

Yesterday was a soft and squishy kind of day for the most part.

I worked from home so I got to hang around in my soft and squishy pink slippers (no photo).

I also made more Marshmallows. I’ve tried a couple of different recipes, one using no corn syrup, and one with. I wasn’t happy with the sugar only recipe, I think I need to beat it a little longer so I will try it again. I would really like to find a great sugar only recipe only because I would really like to cut corn syrup totally out of my life. Unfortunately the thing with marshmallows is the corn syrup seems to add volume and gives us that soft and squishy texture that we all love.

So far my favorite recipe WITH corn syrup is as follows. You will need these ingredients and utensils.

.marshmellow-ingredients.jpg

Not in the picture but really required for Marshmallows, is the Unflavored gelatin you will need. BTW, have you seen these new nested measuring bowls? They are awesome! I bought a set at the grocery store to replace my mostly missing aluminum measuring cups and got a second set as Christmas gift. I kept them both.

Put 1/2 cup of cold water in a large mixing bowl. Sprinkle 3 packets of Knox Unflavored Gelatin over the cold water and set aside to bloom.

In a heavy sauce pan add 2 cups of granulated sugar, 1/2 cup of water, 3/4 cup of light corn syrup and a pinch of kosher salt. Heat over medium heat until the sugar is dissolved and it starts to bubble. Turn the heat up to med/high and using a candy thermometer, simmer until it reaches 240F or the softball stage. Remove from heat immediately.

sugarlava.jpg

Using a standing mixer (which works best because you have to beat the sticky sugar mess for at least 15 minutes), starting a low speed, drizzle the hot sugar mixture into the bloomed gelatin slowly. Once you have added all the sugar mixture, which is like hot lava so be very careful, crank up the speed on your mixer to high.

whipitgood.jpg

Note I have a old mixture that I inherited from a friend who got a fancy schmancy one. But you will notice that the old one I have is obviously a Spinal Tap Mixer, because the speed goes past 10! SEE!

spinaltapmixer.jpg

When the marshmallow mixture starts to thicken and turns white like whipped cream, it’s time to add the flavoring. I like to add either 2 tsp. of real vanilla extract, or 2 tsp. of peppermint extract.

Continue to beat for a full 15 minutes. Be sure to scrape the sides of the bowl and watch closely because this sticky mess will crawl up the beaters and make an awful mess if you don’t keep an eye on things. (ask me how I know, LOL!)

While that is whipping away under a careful eye, prepare a 9 x 12 x 2 pan. Line it with that new Reynolds Release Non-Stick Aluminum Foil. Be sure you have the Non-stick side up and you will also want to lightly spray the foil with no-stick spray. This stuff is really sticky.

Once the marshmallow stuff is whipped good and stiff (hmm that should bring some interesting hits)…. place it into the lined pan and smooth evenly. Sprinkle the top with Confectioner’s Sugar and set aside for 6-8 hours.

almostmarshmellows.jpg

Mine is still setting aside, until I get home tonight, then using clean kitchen scissors, I will cut them up in to 1 inch squares. Dust the cubes with more Confectioner’s Sugar by putting a cup or more into a plastic bag and shaking the cut marshmallows to coat well.

Store in an air tight container for several weeks, or package them up nicely in little cellophane bags and give to friends.

I think for Valentine’s Day I am going to try a batch using raspberry flavored jello instead of the unflavored gelatin, it should make the marshmallows pink as well as flavor them. I also want to try dipping them in chocolate, so stay tuned.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Other soft and squishy moments from yesterday. Spotted (according to Lucia) a SMK (straight, male knitter) in the wild – Harpy’s hubby came to the knitting group last night. He’s a newbie, but doing very well.

swmk.jpg

When we found out he’s a lefty! Nicole taught him continental and he’s picking it up fast! He was also caught holding and admiring the new addition to our knitting circle, Baby Edmund!

holding-baby.jpg

It doesn’t get softer or squishier than that. This is why we all love Dave 🙂

I did manage to get some knitting done. Only a few more inches to go on the sleeves then I can block and put this kid sweater together.

2 responses to “Soft and Squishy

  1. Thanks for sharing the recipe! I’ve been meaning to make those for a while. 🙂

    As for the rest of the post, well, I’ll just agree that he’s one hell of a catch… and doesn’t look half bad with a baby in his arms, either. 😉

  2. Wow, I can’t believe that mixer does that!

Leave a Reply

