Off to Peru

sweater1.jpg

My sister Cindy is off to Peru – in fact she should be waking up in Lima this morning.

She sent me this note to pass on to all of you

I want to thank everyone for all the great things you have donated for me to bring to Peru.  I have just repacked everything as I wasn’t sure how I was going to get it all in under the weight limits.  I am limited to 2 checked bags no more that 50 lbs.  My big bag being checked is filled with my things (about 25 lbs) and the rest is clothes donated by everyone and weighs in at a whopping 45 lbs.  My next checked bag is close to 40 lbs and is bursting at the seams with so many crayons, watercolors, markers, stickers, hand-knit sweaters and such great craft things for the kids to use.  So if you can believe you all came up with close to 60 lbs in donated school supplies and clothes, you should pat yourselves on the back!  I will take many pictures to share with you all.  Thanks for the goodwill. ~ Cindy    “

As you can see we managed to get nine sweaters and several hats finished to take with her.  And we collected a boat load of art supplies as well (Thank you Gerry)

Special thanks to

Blue sweater (top left) by Lucia – she managed to finish this under the deadline with literally minutes to spare – great job!

Purple sweater (top right) by me

Middle row (left) green/blue sweater from friend of my sisters

Middle Red vest by Nicole

Middle right Brown sweater and hats by Judy

Lower left Blue sweater by Alice

Lower middle green and pink by Amber

Lower left green sweater by Cindy

And last but not least on the bottom the turquoise and stripes by Brian.

I just wish we had more time.

We will do the prises when she returns from Peru around March 1st.  So stay tuned.  Thanks so much – knitters really are the best!

3 responses to “Off to Peru

  1. wait – Lucia finished a sweater??!?!?!?

    Whoa. The earth did move; I was wondering why…

    Incredible project and big karmic wave of good stuff to you, dear.

  2. I hope to hear more of her tales. Buen Viaje!

  3. Yep, I finished a sweater, and what fine company it’s in.

Leave a Reply

