How did you spend your tax return?

Well I was actually planning and had been looking for a used fine cloth drum carder.  But last week as I was checking Craig’s list for the umpteenth time I came across a Lendrum ST for a great price.  I thought about it all night.  You rarely see Lendrum wheels come up for sale second hand.    It seems like every time I spin on my wheel during open studio I am asked about lessons.

Not having a second wheel kind of precluded giving lessons, so with this one practically throwing itself at me, I emailed the seller to see if it was still available having be up for sale for almost a month.  Sure enough it was, and it was only a 20 minute drive from my house.  So Friday after work I drove up and picked it up.

It’s a older model, but I am sure my bobbins will fit.  She also had one of the older lazy kates which look much nicer than the one I got with mine.  I look forward to giving it a ‘spin’. (hehe)

Saturday was supposed to be a nasty rainy cold day, but the sun came out early and stayed out all day – it was just beautiful.  Unfortunately I had schedule hair appointments for me and DD in the mall that afternoon.  I thought about canceling but my hair was just awful.  So I got it all cut off – lots of layers, and with my hair texture and waves it looks like I just came off the beach.  (Translation- comb in the morning with a little product and no need to do anything with your hair again all day.)

I also need to color it desperately so I decided to throw caution to the wind and went a shade lighter than my normal reddish blond,  Then on a whim I decided to go for the gusto (translation double process – remember those days?) and grabbed a hair frosting kit too.  DD helped me pull my hair through the cap to add the blonde highlights.  I have to say I love, love, love it.  Patty is going to be so jealous!

Sunday, only Jen and I made it to Peddler’s Daughter – the Magner’s was delicious and we had a lot of laughs.

Only two weekends to the CT Sheep and Wool festival and The Harlot at Webs.  Who is going?  Carpooling?

One response to “How did you spend your tax return?

  1. I’ll be going to see the yarn harlot, but I think I’ll be skipping the CT S&W. Can’t wait to see your hair!

Leave a Reply

