Running and getting nowhere

This weekend I had so many plans but most got dropped when Mom called on Friday morning to say Dad was back in the hospital.  We knew he hadn’t felt well for awhile and when you are 82 that is kind of expected some days.  But when my sister checked with the Dr. and the doctor starts with “well you know your Dad has lived beyond his life expectancy, and he has several issues….”  it doesn’t bode well, so we dropped what we were doing and headed down to the hospital.

He actually looked better because they had given him a few pints of blood and it made him at least look healthier.  For some reason his body isn’t making blood.  It doesn’t help that he’s been diagnosed with both systolic and diastolic heart failure.  And the medications aren’t really helping.  He also had diabetes which he refuses to modify his diet to accommodate, and with a sweet tooth this is not good either.

So until they get him a bit more stablized he’s in the hospital for awhile.   If you think of it, keep him in your thoughts.  Thanks!

Saturday since Dad was having several tests, and would probably sleep in between, we decided to go ahead with open studio day at Western Avenue Studios.

Bead and Fiber Babe, Amanda stopped by and picked up some of my lovely hand dyed finn roving.  She recently acquired a spinning wheel.  Check out what she did with the Finn roving here.  Didn’t she do a fabulous job?

Cindy was there giving lessons to some lovely ladies on weaving.

Check out the lovely scarves they finished while they were there!

Fantastic job!

Note the triangular loom in the background.  Cindy has been working this loom for about 6 months now – all right, all ready – finish it so I can make one too!  I spent the entire day spinning (sorry I didn’t take pics , I know BAD BLOGGER!)

Saturday night my friend Nancy came over for dinner.  She was supposed to come over Friday night, but with Dad in the hospital we had postponed it.  We had a lovely dinner of Delmonico Rib eyes, baked potatoes, and salad and I had a couple of nice cocktails too.  Thanks Nancy!  Then apple pie later.  It took a while to get the teenagers to leave but they finally did.

Sunday, it was grey and dismal out.  By the time I woke up it was pouring rain and all I could think of was that my poor sister and nephew were out there doing the Walk for Hunger.  Eric is ‘this’ close to finishing up all the badges for Eagle Scout.

Up and at ’em Grace and I went back down to the hospital to see Dad so, no knitting at the Peddler’s Daughter in Nashua.  We were going to use the tickets mom had for an afternoon play (Street Car Named Desire) but Grace was being a total brat and Dad was sleepy so I sent Mom off to the play with her friend ‘B’ and we hung out with Dad while he had some lunch.  After lunch he was getting sleepy again, so I got his pillows plumped and got him settled and tucked in, then Grace and I skedaddled out of there to get some errands done.

Within moments of arriving home the gaggle of teens descended on the house.  But they left early enough that I got so hang in my jammies to watch some TV and get some knitting in.  I am almost finished with the Baby Surprise Jacket – I ran out of my handspun with just 3 rows left 😦  I have something complimentary that will work, but still it ticked me off.

I am still hoping to get to the NH Sheep and Wool festival this coming weekend – but that all depends on Dad and where he is.  Mom had been planning on going to PA for her sister’s birthday, but that is all on hold too.

6 responses to “Running and getting nowhere

  1. I had such a good time, thank you! I’m still very thankful to Justin for noticing and changing my flat tire. Bob was quite impressed that he was able to do it using the “crappy” jack that came with my car.

  2. I’m so sorry to hear about your Dad. I’ll keep him in my thoughts and prayers.

  3. I was thinking of you this weekend, after I realized I had missed open studio.

    I’m sorry to hear baout your father. I will make sure to keep you all in my prayers.

    I will be at NH S&W on Saturday, so make sure to let me know if you will be making it up this way.

  4. Aww, thank you for the mention in your blog! Perhaps I will see you at NH sheep & wool this weekend.
    I’ll keep your father in my thoughts. Intellectually, we can tell ourselves that these things are expected in older relatives, but emotionally, it still hurts.

  5. Well shoot, sorry to hear about your dad. I hope they get home sorted out. We’ll be at NH S&W both days but we’re taking classes so we’ll only be wandering about on Saturday morning, keep an eye out if you are there then.

  6. I’m sorry to hear about your Dad. My thoughts are with you.

Leave a Reply

