Getting back to ‘normal’

Thank you everyone for your warm expressions of sympathy. They really do help. Dad’s memorial service was on Saturday. The sun was out, and it was a beautiful day. I also think it was fitting that it also just happened to be Armed Forces Day. He would have like that. The church was standing room only and there were over 200 people at the luncheon afterwards. It was lovely and perfectly orchestrated by Mom.

I have to say that over the past week, as we pulled together pictures and photos, and spoke to old friends that we hadn’t seen or heard from in eons, we did a lot more laughing than crying.

DD pulled some really horrible stuff on my during this past week… all I can say is I am currently looking for Wilderness Boot Camps for Girls Only to send her to this summer… seriously.

Since I couldn’t really think about anything hard, but needed to keep my hands busy I have almost a pair of socks completed. I really should have been working on my shawl, but I just couldn’t think that hard all week.

Mom had us running back and forth and screaming at people including us. We realized that she was tired and grieving in her own way, but my sister and I were <this> close to duct taping her up and tossing her into the back seat of my cousin Jen’s car so that we could get a reprieve this week.

Cindy and I also decided that if Mom ever needs to go into a nursing home that she is going to love Albuquerque.

All I can say it thank the gods for overly developed coping skills, this past week would have pushed a lesser person right off the deep end.

Now we just have the gathering of the clan to look forward to. At least that isn’t until July so I have plenty of time to squeeze in some therapy, tequila and lots of knitting. I’m going to let my cousin Tom handle these arrangements with Mom – just a little Military Interment Service at the Family cemetery in upstate NY… should be a breeze.

6 responses to “Getting back to ‘normal’

  1. Good to read that your father’s memorial was lovely and helpful in everyone’s sorrowful time. I suspect that your dd pulled some crazy sh** as part of her grieving process, but of course, I am not in your shoes and have yet to understand the difficulties in raising a teenager. Barbara Walter’s daughter runs a Wilderness Camp for girls in Maine; I don’t know all the details, but I am sure it can be found online. It is closer to home, but far enough away for her not to want to pull any more stunts. My thoughts and support continue to be extended to your family.

  2. I had no idea your dad was Project Manager for LEM! Wow! I trust you’ve read, “Lost Moon”? If memory serves, it’s in the epilog where Lovell describes the “bill for services rendered” that the LEM team put together once the team was safely home–what a hoot! Your dad must have been a remarkable guy. And, yes, mothers and teenagers alike surely do have their own unique coping mechanisms. My thoughts are with you!

  3. Kathy E in Fredericton

    {{{{{HUGS!}}}}}

  4. My deepest sympathies – I wish this could be easier. Sending you a big, big hug.

  5. The Green Witch

    My dear, I’ve only just seen the news. My thoughts ar ewith you, and your family.

    Your father looks and he sees you.

  6. Oh, I’m sorry to hear about your dad – it sounds like he was a wonderful man. I’m happy to hear the services went well, with so many people and more focus on the happy memories. It’s tough to lose a parent – even when they’re 82, isn’t it? I’m so glad you de-lurked – I love your blog and it’s so fun to find new ones!

Leave a Reply

