SQUIRREL IN THE BASEMENT!

I was just sitting at the kitchen table catching up on emails, when I heard munching coming from the cat dish.  The only problem was both cats were lying on the couch… slugs!

So I turned to see a squirrel that had come up from the basement!  I keep the cat boxes in the basement, thus the basement door is always open.

So I grabbed the cat most likely to catch it (Miss Pickles) shoved her down the stairs and shut the door.  She took off after it, but 5 minutes later she was whining at the door…  WTF?

I apparently have weeny cats….

Is it too much to expect a rodent free home with two cats living here?  I think not!

So, do I open the bulk head and invite in more squirrels or hope for a cat solution to the problem?  I will be taking the cat food up and putting it away for the night…  no food for cats until dead squirrel carcass shows up.

6 responses to “SQUIRREL IN THE BASEMENT!

  1. Oh, no! I must have been thinking about you last night, because I had a dream about wild animals getting into the house (mine was a racoon, and a fox). Well, I hope the cats rise to the occasion.

  2. I wouldn’t try to force the kitties to catch the squirrel. They’re a tad larger than mice and if they bite one of the kitties, you could be in for an abcess or rabies tests, treatments or the worst, putting one of them down.

  3. I have 8 cats and occasionally have a wandering rodent in the house. They do catch a few and others have to be caught and released as the current group are rather inadequate at finishing them off.

    I don’t think they can get a squirrel, only a really good efficient hunter can successfully get a squirrel. Although, they may convince the squirrel to leave the way it came…

  4. I’m with Nancy on this one — in my experience cats are outmatched by squirrels (and squirrels know it.) We’ve never had squirrels in the house but they sure dance around the trees in the backyard, teasing the cats mercilessly. Haven’t ever seen a single squirrel carcass; don’t ever expect to.

  5. I just wanted to thank you for helping me with the doily on wednesday. Sometimes I miss the obvious logic of knitting so appreciate when people like you can point it out 🙂
    G’luck with the squirrel I don’t have any experience there, but hopefully you can be rid of it

  6. One of our cats – affectionately known as the rodent assassin – once took down a squirrel. But only once. She’s incredibly efficient with chipmunks and all kinds of other small pests, but the squirrels are a challenge even for her. Fortunately she seems to scare the crap out of them, most of the time.

Leave a Reply

