First things first…

Was tagged by Liz for the book challenge whatever thingie…

The Rules:

Pick up the nearest book.
Open on page 123.
Find the fifth sentence.
Post the next three sentences.
Tag five people, and acknowledge who tagged you.

This is going to be so boring since I am at work and only have manuals and other boring technical books surrounding me.

Hmmm Let’s pick Nortel Networks Troubleshooting and Optimization Manual, by Ragho Mahalingam.

As with the configuration file, all other critical file system contents should be backed up to a server. Using either FTP or TFTP (Routers Files Manager), all file system contents can be copied to a workstation for future reference and, if necessary, immediate recovery. Unforeseen issues may require you to abort a software upgrade, in which case you can use the backup copy of the current file system to restore the system.

Hmmm good advice for any computer system or hardware wouldn’t you say?  I’m not sure who has done this and who hasn’t so if you want to play, consider yourself tagged.

I’ve actually been keeping busy between the real boring work and playing in the studio with all the dyes and fibers as well as a little knitting and spinning.

This past weekend I spent all day Saturday in the studio, dyeing up some lovely sweet grass targee, and some merino/silk blend as well as some real and faux cashmere. I recently joined a fiber swap in Ravelry.com – it should be fun and figured I would get some stuff dyed up ahead of time.

I would share some photos, but I hung it all out to dry on the clothes line and it’s been raining everyday since then. Hopefully today it should finally be dry.

I am also knitting scarves from some silk, Cindy and I dyed a few weeks ago. We are just knitting up Q&D lace scarves to hopefully sell during Quilt Week and Lowell Open Studios in September. They are unfortunately boring and I am dying to start the Goddess Knit Anniversary Mystery Shawl – I am already two clues behind, and she’s only published two clues so far.

Darling Daughter had her last final this morning and it’s her last day of school.

Things are going much better now that she is out of the ‘bad’ crowd.  I am feeling a bit better about having her home this summer.  I still wish she would get a job!

I think I mentioned that my mom broke her left wrist a few weeks ago, so she’s been kind of down.  Between Dad’s death, trying to get a handle on being single and now a broken arm, she’s been pretty testy too.  So I invited her to come up for dinner Sunday and she ended up showing up at my house at 9:00 AM!

So I made her come out with me to shop for tomato plants, herbs and flowers for the window boxes.

I was really pleased with the way the window boxes came out.  I just love Lobelia, and the miniature petunias.  I think the chartreuse vines set off the purples perfectly.

I put a couple of cherry tomato plants into large containers ans surrounded them with basil.  I did another large container with more herbs (rosemary, cilantro, chive, parsley, more basil.  You can never have too much fresh basil in the summer!

My honeysuckle vine around the door is in full bloom and the scent is intoxicating.  I’ve been leaving the doors open in the backroom and between the roses, peonies and the honeysuckle it smells just like summer!  Now if it would just stop raining and let the sun come out.

I could really use a long vacation.  Fortunately I am taking the week after the fourth of July off, then the third week in July when my brother comes out with Jeffrey.   Then it’s off to the gathering of the clan in Upstate New York to the camp in Mount Upton.  I need to start practicing my Pitch game soon.

4 responses to “First things first…

  1. Phew! It is really nice to hear about dd doing much better at home. Is there any way to find a job that suits her interest, like a music or instrument store. I know they also have a music school in either Westford, Littleton or Acton. I forget which, but it caters to little ones, and she can be a mentor to many aspiring musicians. It definitely has to be something that she loves. Good to know that your mother is recovering. I am sure that time will heal all wounds. Have a good vaca. We are off to Chicago for a few days for July 4th, then I will be back to posting. Take care.

  2. Oh, I love Rosa’a idea about musical mentoring!

    Glad to hear things are going well. It’s good to hear you are going to have time to spend with your brother. You certainly deserve a vacation!

  3. Hmmm…daughter out of school. Mom with a broken wrist. Sounds like the two ought to get together.

  4. Your book excerpt is HILARIOUS – thanks for playing! “Unforeseen issues may require you to abort a software upgrade,” indeed – ya think? (snort)

    And VERY glad things are going a bit better with Offspring. Good seein’ you yesterday, too 🙂

Leave a Reply

