Beach Days and Fried Clams

What a great week it was to have off!  It was hazy, hot and humid most days.  Perfect for a day at the beach.  DD and I headed up to Salisbury Beach with some yummy egg salad sandwiches packet, and a jug of cold tea.  Even the breeze was hot and felt like a blast from an oven.  Perfect for taking a plunge into the cold Atlantic water.  It was so refreshing.

That evening we headed over to Hampton to cruise the strip and check out the gift shops and street side eateries.  Of course we had to have fried clams, with lots of tartar sauce, and hot french fries.  It doesn’t get much better than that!

I also spent a couple of vacation days last week, painting the studio, shopping for shelving units and rearranging the space.  I took lots of pics but do you think I can find my camera?!  It looks really great though.

This weekend we head off with Dad’s ashes to Greene, NY and the gathering of the clan.  We will bury Dad’s remains in the family cemetery, then head over to Uncle Stan and Aunt Ida’s camp in Mount Upton to spend the rest of the day, swimming, playing cards (Pitch), eating speidies, and drinking lots of beer with relatives.

I think we (immediate family) will be glad when this weekend is over and done.

My brother and nephew are flying out from ABQ for the week, so I will be off next week too.

I have been knitting, the Goddess Knits Anniversary Shawl – I am on clue 4.  It’s turning out beautifully and is actually quite nice to knit up.  I really like this pattern.  I think it’s going to look like the Rose windows of Notre Dame Cathedral.  At least that is what it’s reminding me of.  I think I may have enough of the Peruvian Alpaca for 2 or maybe 3 shawls.  I would like to make at least one to sell and one to keep.

I also did some spinning at the Farmer’s Market on Westford Commons this past week and it was so much fun.  We were invited to go back this week, but unfortunately I am working too late and so won’t be there with the rest of the crew.   I really need to find some more time to play.  Working for a living really sucks.

2 responses to “Beach Days and Fried Clams

  1. I wish I could have stayed for the spinning last week. This week looks more favorable for allergies/asthma so I’m going to try and make it. I look forward to seeing your pictures when you do find your camera and hope your travels treat you well!

  2. Can’t wait to see the studio.

    I will be thinking of you and the family this weekend.

    Enjoy the time with your brother!

Leave a Reply

