Under the spell?

Yesterday for the most part was a damp, dreary day.  We even had a thunderboomer come through, but as soon as the thunder and rain stopped we went out to run a few errands.  On the way home I spotted a very bright rainbow and in minutes the second one appeared.  They were so bright and defined.

This can only be an auspicious omen, right?

Last night for dinner I made Lemon Garlic Shrimp with Pasta – YUMMO!

To 1/4 cup of olive oil add the zest of one lemon and set aside

In a large pot, boil water, add salt and either thin spagetti or anglehair pasta – cook per directions.

While the pasta is cooking…

In a heated pan add

2 tbsp of olive oil

2 shallots thinly sliced

1 large clove of garlic, crushed

1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes

Saute until shallots and garlic are softened and translucent

Add one bag of frozen, deveined, cleaned shrimp – I used and really like Emeril’s Louisiana Shrimp (just be sure to fish the little seasoning packet out before you dump it into the pan).  These are American Caught in the Wild Shrimp and they taste great.

Add the juice of one or two lemons, the zest of another lemon, and a splash of good white wine.

Season with kosher salt and fresh ground pepper.

Let cook on Medium High heat until the shrimp have just turned pink.  The pasta should be done by now.

Add the pasta to the shrimp and poor the lemon zest olive oil over the pasta.

Add some torn fresh basil leaves and toss it all together.

Server immediately.

Other things I thought I might add next time if I have it on hand:  left over roasted asparagus tips.

I would have taken a picture but it was gone too fast. Even the kid liked it.  Hmmm this might even work with Chicken tenders instead of Shrimp.

On the Ravelympic knitting scene… I decided I hated the yarn I was using when I found this lovely camel colored (59), 50% merino, 25% cashmere, and 25% silk that I had in my stash – I am pretty sure I have enough too so I started the sweater again with the Laines Du Nord Cashsilk that I got from a Webs sale this past winter.  I like it a whole lot better.

3 responses to “Under the spell?

  1. That rainbow was a beauty wasn’t it? Where did you find Emeril’s shrimp? I have almost quit eating shrimp (my favorite food) because I grew up on Gulf Coast shrimp and what’s available here is just flat in comparison. Once in a blue moon I find Gulf shrimp at the fish mongers but it’s quite rare.

  2. yummy… i will add this to my recipe collection! I like the Trader Joe’s “flash frozen” shrimp– they don’t taste so flat.

  3. lynne – i’m drooling!!!!

Leave a Reply

