Potato Leek Soup

There is something about a yummy pot of homemade soup on cool fall evenings with some crusty bread.

This past week I had picked up some lovely young leeks at the farm stand. I knew I had potatoes at home and figured I would make a potato leek soup to take with me this weekend as an offering to my friend whose house we are staying at in NY so we can go to Rhinebeck. YAY!

Since one of my friends is vegan I decided to make it with vegetable stock instead of chicken stock and it came out great!

Potato Leek Soup

2 – 14 oz. cans of vegetable stock or chicken stock

1 cup water

3 Russet potatoes peeled and diced

1 bay leaf

1/2 tsp of fresh thyme

Put it all in a pot and bring to a boil then simmer for 15 minutes.

While that’s simmering take a saute pan and melt 3 tbsp. of unsalted butter with a crushed clove of garlic,

Take the white part of three small leeks, rough dice them and rinse them clean, drain and add to the butter and garlic.

Dice a medium sweet onion and add to the saute pan.

Saute the veggies until translucent.

Add 1/2 tsp of celery salt and coarse black pepper to taste.

Add 1/2 cup of white wine and simmer to reduce the liquid for about 8 minutes.

Once the potatoes are tender, remove from the heat DO NOT DRAIN!

Using a potato masher, mash the potatoes leaving it somewhat chunky.

Add the leek and onion mixture and 3/4 cup of half and half, and a tbsp of chopped parsley.

Heat and serve with a salad and crusty bread.

This will easily serve about 4 people.

I hope to see you at Rhinebeck!

3 responses to “Potato Leek Soup

  1. Of course I saw vegan and thought, oh no! I hope they eat butter (some vegans DON’T!!!) Have fun sweetie, and hopefully Rachel and I will see you there tomorrow!!

  2. Pingback: Simmering Soup Pot « Tangled and Warped

Leave a Reply

