So long 2008

2008 was not a very stellular year for me, my family, or most of my friends for that matter.  So to 2008 I say, so long and thanks for all the fish.

The death of my Dad was by far the hardest blow from this year.  Grief is an on going process so some days are better than others.   To change things up for the holidays, since this was Dad’s favorite time of year.  My sister and I sent my mom to my brother’s in New Mexico.  We thought it would be easier for her to spend time with the seven year old grandson, rather than the surly teens which is all we had to offer.  I think it was good for her, my brother, and my nephew.  So with Mom gone, my sister and her immediately family headed down to the in-laws.   This left for a very quiet day for DD and myself. A good friend came for dinner and I went all out with boneless prime rib, yorkshire puddings, baked potatoes, roasted carrots, and even bearnaise sauce.  Totally delicious and not too many left overs either!

It was a bad year for friends losing jobs due to layoffs and cutbacks, some (including myself) had major kid issues, and we all saw economic worries… the list goes on and on.  Let’s just say I am not sorry to see the end of 2008.

SO! Welcome 2009!

Granted things won’t magically get better over night, but with a new year comes hope.

Many years ago I made a New Year’s Resolution – it’s the only one I’ve ever kept and that resolution was to never make new years resolutions, and I don’t plan on breaking the cycle this year either.

Instead I am just looking forward to things changing, which could be good or bad, but at least it will be different.

I am so looking forward to Inauguration Day.  I am still in awe that we were able to elect a man of color and integrity to the white house.  I am so excited to have a president that is intelligent representing us.  The past 8 years of Hop-a-long Moron has been almost unbearable.  I won’t be sorry to see the door hit his ass for sure.  And the same goes for Darth Cheney and his evil empire.  Scary man.  I would still like to see both of them standing in front of a judge and jury for war crimes and other crimes against humanity.

I also plan on continuing to eat better.  I am not saying the D*** word.  I started choosing to eat healthier a while back and I have actually been losing weight.  I still eat cookies, chips and junk occasionally but I refuse to do the all or nothing guilt thing – it just won’t work for me.  So for now I will continue to call it choosing to eat healthier.   I still think celery and carrots are for dip transportation 🙂 but by making my own dips I can chose what goes in them and how much I make.  Celery is better for conveying the dip than chips are anyway.

My daughter is leaving her high school – school has been nothing but a disaster since freshman year.  The school just doesn’t seem to get it.  They are so locked into banging the square pegs into round holes that they cannot see the forest for the trees.  The stress is just too much for the DD and myself.   So for Yule I got her the Teenagers Liberation Handbook and my permission to drop out of the high school, but only with the promise that she would get an education and become productive.  Right now I am just trying to get her off the couch.

Depression sucks for everyone.  So this year I am not going to let those around me (read Mom and Daughter) to suck me into their depression.  I will remain supportive and helpful but only within my capabilities.  I have learned to say ‘no’.

In order for me to do this I have committed myself to taking on new studio space this year at Western Avenue.  It should be ready for me to move into by the end of February.  So stay tuned for a big Open Studio party in the spring.  I need to have a place all my own, where I can go and be creative and surround by positive energy.  Otherwise the other stuff just sucks me dry.

I am also working on my super secret project.  Well it’s not so super secret at least not anymore.  So for those that don’t know…  my sister and a colleague of hers are putting together an art show for 2010 on Contemporary Kimonos and I am putting together my proposal to submit by January 30th.  Keep you fingers crossed that my design gets chosen.

I have been swatching up a storm, jotting down ideas and notes in the middle of the night and I am excited with my ideas and plan.  Now I just need to figure out how to take whats on paper and in my head and knit the vision of my kimono.  If I pull this off it will make me very happy.

I have been knitting a few little things here and there,  a couple of hats.  I knit the Meret Slouchy Beret out of some lovely grey shetland handspun.  One for me and one for my daughter.  I am so slogging through a sock – I promised a pair to a friend and just cannot seem to get them done.  No sock mojo I guess.  I also finished a quickie scarf k2 p2 rib – two rows of alternating colors.  I used some stash yarn which is always a good thing.

I still have to do my annual inventory of stash and ufos – most will be frogged at this point 🙂

For Christmas my sister got me the Knit Kimono by Vicki Square of inspiration.  Now I need to figure out which one I want to knit to compliment the one I am designing.  After all, if I do get into the show I will need something to wear at the opening right?  I may just have to frog the cashmere Oblique sweater that has been fermenting in the ufo pile and rededicate it to one of Vicki’s kimonos 🙂  oh I feel the need coming on.

So here’s to a happy, healthy, and prosperous 2009!

11 responses to “So long 2008

  1. Wait…it’s the school’s fault that DD is dropping out? Wasn’t it DD’s responsibility to go to school and do the work? Public schools can only do so much.

    I think that not allowing others to suck you down is a fabulous idea. It’s very difficult, especially concerning those that are closest to you but it is the best choice to make. I’m also trying to stay positive about the job market. I think that once Obama is inaugurated, people will feel more hopeful. Even the ones that didn’t vote for him.

  2. I completely understand, High schools do not have the resources needed to truly work with all kinds of kids and some choose to push when they should pull and it is not easy. My little sister “dropped out” but really she just enrolled in a program at the community college that allowed her to get a high school diploma and 1 year of college done all at the same time. I hope your daughter finds some way to be successful and stay off your couch 🙂
    Depression does suck and I think you have made a good move to not allow those around you to vacuum you in to theirs.
    Hopefully I will see you at knit night again sometime soon and I can’t wait to see your new space!

  3. I am not blaming the school for our choices, but I do blame the school for not being of any help, if anything they continually discouraged her, the teachers destroyed her self esteem and basically did nothing other that continue to beat her down by attempting to discipline her disability. They had no alternative suggestions, the kid was bored to death, uninspired and generally targeted by ‘well meaning’ idiot teachers.

  4. Congratulations on letting your daughter choose a different educational path! There are many options and forcing a child/teen into the mainstream ‘acceptable’ one isn’t necessarily the best one.

    I’m looking forward to seeing your completed design!

  5. I am glad that you two came up with a good resolution to her issues. You’re a great mom with a great daughter and that situation was making both of you miserable. I wish Grace all the best. She is a lucky gal to have a wonderful mom who is finally working on herself this year. Good luck.

  6. I think public schools have a great ability to destroy minds and irreversibly suppress creativity. Good move. I think a community college program could be a life changing event for Grace.

    Happy New Year!

  7. I think that public schools have very limited resources and that most of the teachers do the best that they can. I agree that they probably did not have the best handle on Grace’s problems and issues.

    I was bullied in school and was labeled lazy due to my problems with certain subjects, especially math. I was diagnosed with a learning disability about a month after I dropped out of school, so I have a pretty good understanding of some of the problems Grace was having. Dropping out is still one of the few regrets I have about my life and one that I’d love to go back and change. I just hope that Grace fulfills her promises to you and makes something wonderful out of her life.

  8. I agree about 2008 – pretty sucky for me from beginning (sick and hospitalized for a month in Jan) to end (losing my dad in Nov.) The middle wasn’t really so hot either. Bring on 2009, baby.

    I am looking forward to seeing your kimono designs – hope you will post them one way or the other. I can’t wait to see what you come up with, and I know it will be something fabulous.

    Oh, and btw, cashmere kimono = f***ing pisser idea. I want one too, please 😉

  9. You are so right about schools trying to pound our square children into their perfectly round holes/ expectations! Have you looked into the Beacon High School in Watertown? http://www.beaconhighschool.org Hang in there. It has been an awful year. 2009 will be way better 🙂

  10. I’m so, so glad for you and DD that things are turning in another direction. Next teen event at Voyagers for homeschoolers/unschoolers/generally unconventional neat kids is on Jan. 23; will happily bring her if she wants to go.

    Breathe in, breathe out. Hugs to you both.

  11. Let’s raise a glass to 2009 and better things.

Leave a Reply

