Blog-o-versary and Birthday

Friday, January 16th – the big double digit birthday – as in “I can’t drive…”

55

I’m not really in birthday ‘mode’ this year. Especially after finding out that my company just filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy. I just feel really bad for the last 1,300 people that we just laid off. Apparently the promised severance packages aren’t coming. Talk about a kick in the teeth. I guess this also means that those of us that have stuck it out aren’t going to get squat either.

I just want to make it to 62… but it doesn’t look like that is going to happen either. I guess I should just be grateful to have a job at this point. I guess it’s time to dump the rest of the stock that I own for the loss…. gee it’s a whole $0.12 per share right now.

I know I’ve been a bad blogger lately, but as you can probably tell life has been sucking me dry and I would rather be a bad blogger than a constant whiner. Trust me – you’ll be happier too.

I have been knitting quite a bit – really I have. I’ve made several Meret Berets, one for myself, one for DD and several for friends. They are a quick and fun knitting project.

I am also finally starting the felted clogs I have wanted to knit for myself for years, but just never got to it. Of course DD wants a pair too, so I will probably do a second pair.

I also have this one pair of socks that just won’t complete – mainly because they refuse to knit themselves. I finally finished the first sock and I’m about 1/4 of the way through the second one, so progress is being made.

I have been very lax on spinning lately – it’s not like I don’t have plenty of fiber to spin. I just can’t seem to find the time, although I did go to St. Distaff’s day at the Westford Museum. It was great to see friends and spend the day spinning and relaxing. I even won the door prize! Lottery Tickets! I don’t usually win anything but actually scratched $16 in winners so that was way cool. I really need to make time to spin. It’s soothing to my soul.

DD’s sleep study was tough – she got a nice comfy bed with lots of wires stuck to her head. I got a very uncomfortable pullout chair. Apparently they didn’t read her intake info so the next morning they canceled the rest of the study and sent her home. Apparently we have to do this all over again. I think I’ll take the blow up mattress next time. Neither of us was happy.

Saturday I am heading over to mom’s for a birthday celebration. My sister is making a seafood pie (sounds yummy) and I requested Lemon Meringue Pie – everyone else can have cake, because I am not sharing!

Then there is the weather. Bitter cold, snow, ice… what can I say other than, it’s winter in New England. The days are getting noticeably longer, just not fast enough.

Other than that Mrs. Lincoln was so-so about the play.

Can you tell I stopped taking the happy pills?

7 responses to “Blog-o-versary and Birthday

  1. Not that it is any of my business, but I thought the happy pills were workin for you? UH oh about the bankruptcy 😦
    When is the next open studios? I would love to go. I just signed up for a wednesday night class so I might not be to javaroom for awhile
    I hope you can still make this year fantastic despite all of the shit that it has started with

  2. Yes, the economy stinks, and yes, it’s the middle of winter, but hopefully you’ll still have a happy birthday.

    Wishing you the best

  3. Happy birthday, Lynne. Tell everyone to go to hell and take a knitting health day for yourself 🙂

    • Marie,une information pour vous: les magasins de la chaîne anglaise Selfridges renoncent au foie gras. Apparemment, le rôle de Roger Moore n´a pas été nÃlÂbgligea©ƒe.C´est une bonne nouvelle.Quant à ce que j´ai écrit plus haut et qui a semblé irriter Anne-Marie (petit clin d´oeil sans animosité), je n´ai pas envie de poursuivre la discussion. Je me contenterai désormais de donner des informations concrètes ou des liens intéressants.Bonne journée à tous.

  4. Happy Birthday Lynne! Sorry about your company filing- how awful. Sending you hugs.

  5. aw, that sucks… but happy birthday anyhow! hugs,
    Liz

Leave a Reply

