Just checking in…

It’s been a couple of weeks, but since then I have finished a pair of socks for Alicia – her belated birthday present and trade for earrings that she made  (finally) but alas, I did not photograph them (sorry 😦 )  Since finishing her lovely socks – I have been in knitting project limbo – casting on, knit a few pattern repeats, frog, repeat…  either the yarn isn’t happy with what I am trying to knit with it or I am having knitters block/funk.  I finally realized I have a need to do some serious spinning.  Time to listen to my fiber gut and spin damn it.  I still have that 7 lbs. Romney Fleece to clean and card up.  I thought I was going to have to wait until spring since I have no place to dry that much soaking wet fleece, that is not until I spotted this!  You too can get one here.  It that cool or what?   And my friend Britt just happened to be taking a trip down to Ikea last weekend.  Now we just need to hook up to pick up and I’ll be in fleece washing business.  I also think I want to dye up some fleece pre-carding just for fun.   Now if  ‘they’ would just get the studio finished I could be doing all of this there instead of in my tiny kitchen.

drying-rack

Speaking of my kitchen…    I’ve been making more soup.  This week I made Avgolemono, otherwise known as Greek Chicken-Lemon-Rice Soup.  I checked out a bunch of different recipes but ended up just following my palette (and what I had in the fridge and pantry).  I had 4 cups of homemade Chicken Stock in the freezer so I started with that.  (as previously noted the bestest recipe for soup stock – is Bertha’s recipe from the Silver Palette Cookbook and this is what I had).  To the 4 cups of my stock I added another 2 cups of canned stock, 2/3 cup of jasmine rice (next time I will try Orzo as I hear that is good too).  Bring the stock to a boil and let the rice cook for about 15 minutes.  I then beat until frothy 3 large eggs (this made the soup very thick so next time I will cut back to 2 eggs).  To the eggs I added the zest and juice of one very juicy lemon.  Once the rice was cooked I removed the pot from the heat and ladled in 2 ladles of hot broth SLOWLY into the eggs while whisking vigorously so the eggs did not curdle.  Once the eggs were tempered I dumped it all into the stock placed it back on to the reduced heat and just let it simmer for a few minutes.  Just before serving it up I added some freshly chopped parsley.

This is just what I wanted on that very cold, snowy Wednesday.  Yummy indeed.  The soup was warm and tasty, the eggs and rice made it light but hearty and the lemon just brightened it all up.   The only thing missing was some good crusty bread.

Speaking of bread….    I keep reading about Julie’s adventures in bread making from the Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day.  This is a book I have had on my wishlist for quite awhile and voila – work gave me a kudos $25 gift certificate for Amazon.com so I knew immediately what I was going to spend it on.  Good reading so far.  I made a batch of the starter/sponge, but I am letting it ‘set in the fridge’ for awhile because I really like a sourdough-ish taste and texture and the longer I wait the better it should be.  Although I have to admit waiting is hard.  I just might have to breakdown this weekend and test a loaf or two.  Especially if I make that Minestrone Soup I’ve been craving lately.

Stay tuned and I will let you know how the bread turns out.

Leave a Reply

