Five more days….

…  until Spring. I can hardly wait. This weekend we got a little glimpse of what it around the corner. Bright sun, warm enough to sit outside without a heavy sweater and/or coat, hat, mittens, etc. It was just lovely.

Cindy and I (and my nephew Eric) spent most of the day on Saturday painting the new studio space. Cindy had done all the priming last week, so we just had to get the color on.

The studio space is long and narrow (think bowling alley). There are two columns on either side of the studio that are going to work out to separate the workspace from retail space. We also decided to use color to emphasize the two spaces. I love, love, love the colors – the front (retail space) is a very dark purple blue. The back (workspace) is a light, light, periwinkle grey. The light in the space during the day is spectacular. I cannot wait to actually get some play time in there soon.

Here is the workspace from the pillars to the back. That window is so tall that if I stand on the window sill I cannot reach the top of the window. This is primed but not painted.

studio-1

Here is the space from the pillars to the front (entrance). This is primed and ready to paint.

studio-2

Here is my sister and nephew painting.

cindy-and-eric-painting

cindy-painting


Here is the finished front with some of my fiber that we brought down. Loving the colors!

wall-and-fiber

Here is the finished back space. Well technically not finished – I still have to move down the fiber, dyes, and all the other accoutrement that goes with fiber dyeing, etc. But it gives you an idea.

finished-back-studio

We plan to put stainless steel counters on the right side, and sitting space on the left.

Finished (but not moved in yet) front space.

finished-front-studio

What do you think? I am loving it and I am not regretting giving up therapy and happy pills for this space. It’s so much better for my soul and well being.

I think we are going to have the big opening Open Studio Saturday on May 2nd, so put that on your calendar!

I also went to a couple of parties this weekend.

lynnie-and-mike

Lynnie and Mike

And of course if you go to a Tea (Birthday Party) in March you are bound to run into the Mad Hatter 🙂

march-mad-hatter

With two parties the only thing I made all weekend was a yummy pasta salad that was so easy and cannot really be counted as cooking.  I got this from Lynnie.

1 box of Barilla Cellentani pasta cooked to box specs.

Rinse and cool, then add an entire Party sized container of Tabouli salad.

Toss to coat pasta – refridgerate for a couple of hours then serve.

It was addicting to eat.

Oh and these little petit fours from Concord Tea Cakes were almost too cute to eat!

petit-fours1

And knitting – I finished the socks and started on some lacy fingerless mitts.  Pics later.

4 responses to “Five more days….

  1. The new space looks just stunning! You have to come up and see our newest addition, it’s awesome 🙂

  2. The new space really looks amazing! I’m sure you’ll be fabulously creative in there.

  3. omg – the colors look fantastic. You picked a great combination. The darker looks even better on the wall than it did on the swatch – more vibrant. It’s a really great space.

    Cute petit-fours. (I just like saying “petit-fours” :p)

  4. jumping up and down for you…so exciting!!! I will be working saturdays but will have sundays off…maybe some day i can come back when i don’t have the kids? or just take my crafty one? or maybe when the golf course shuts down for the season I can come again to the open studio time?…although that seems so far away, peace, Jodi

Leave a Reply

