Busy time of the year.

Oh my goodness has it been busy.   Between open studios, and trying to get my holiday knitting done I haven’t had time to do much to keep in touch other than Facebook.

But here is proof that I have been knitting.

 

These are lovely lace cowls (pattern Stephanie’s Pretty Thing).  It’s a quick fun knit and the pattern is easy to memorize.  The green one (top) is knit from Springtide Farms lovely cashmere.  The grey one (middle) is knit with some lovely natural BFL that I spun and the bottom is a skein of sock (Bunny Sox) of merino/angora from Dye Dreams that I picked up at Rhinebeck.    I have a few more to knit up.  I love that you only need about a skein of nice luxury yarn for one of these.

Speaking of luxury yarn I just received two skeins of Great Northern Mink/Cashmere – I am thinking more neck warmers.

I have also been adapting patterns and knitting a bunch of fingerless gloves.

These are quick knits too and it’s fun to make up cables on the fly.  Especially thanks to Lucia who showed me how to do cables without a cable needle.  Easy Peasy now.

On the bad news side – I found some bugs-that-may-not-be-spoken in my bedroom.  So I pulled everything out (sealed what little stash I had in that room into bags with mothballs – fumigated with a bomb – vacuumed and sprayed the room with boric acid – which also meant removing all my clothing and the smaller pieces of furniture.  Everything is in isolation and is being washed with boric acid just in case.   It’s been over a week and I’ve seen nothing else and nothing has found its way to the pheromone trap either so I think I am in the clear.  That was quite a scare.  Fortunately all of my fleece and fibers are kept at the studio so there is no way for cross contamination.  But it was a major pain in the ass job but it had to be done.  I am not even sure they were clothing m*ths but I didn’t want to take a chance. Better safe than sorry.

Darling Daughter and I went so some friends for dinner last Saturday night.  On the way we had to pull over to capture a photo of the sunset.

There have been spectacular sunsets for several days now but I either didn’t have my camera, or couldn’t find a spot to pull over in time.   This time I did and got to share it with Gracie.

The next month is going to be crazy, but if you get a chance here is where I am going to be vending my wares.

Westford Parish Center for the Arts – Holiday Craft Show

Saturday, November 28th from 1pm until 5pm

This is right on the Westford, MA common and it’s easy to find.

Also on the first two weekends in December (5th and 6th and again on the 12th and 13th) from 11am until 5pm at Western Avenue Artist Studios is having their Holiday Open Studios, both days of both weekends.  It’s a great place to shop interesting and unique items for the holidays as well as supporting your local artists.  I will be there all four days and if you have never been or haven’t been to our new studio, we are in Studio #206 on the second floor – near the new cafe called The Space.

Hope to see you at one of these events.

I am also taking the entire week next week off from real work so I can get some things done before all the bru-ha-ha.  AND because my brother Jim, and my nephew Jeffrey are coming to spend the week of Thanksgiving with us too!  I cannot wait to see them!

I will try to be better with the posts.  I am sure I will have lots of photos to share next week.

 

3 responses to “Busy time of the year.

  1. I have some springtide cashmere that I got when i went there with a friend who was writing an article. It’s a lovely farm 🙂 I need to get that pattern to make me a few for gifts! =)

  2. How pretty! I’d love to see a photo of one of the cowls being modeled.

    Adore those gloves, too … some day, some day!

Leave a Reply

