It’s coming on Christmas…

… they’re cutting down trees.  River is one of my favorite Joni Mitchell songs.

I wasn’t going to decorate at all this year.  Since I wasn’t having any of the celebrations at my house, and it’s just me and the cat… why bother right?   So I was at the Christmas Tree Shop picking up stocking stuffers and found a pre-lit, pre-decorated, little tree that only needed to be plugged in and for the big $9 price tag – how could I not!

I give you my tree! (sorry for the bad cellphone pic and please don’t notice the messy bookcase in the background)

I even picked up an evergreen scented candle to enhance the effect.   I have finished my shopping.  Last night I finished my wrapping.  Now all that is left is the cooking.  Chicken Wings for the Holiday potluck at work this Friday,  something for another gathering Friday night.

Then its out for dinner on Sunday for Gracie’s Birthday.  I still cannot believe that she is going to be EIGHTEEN!!!  When did that happen?  On one hand it seemed to take forever, on the other it happened in a blink of an eye.  This is going to be an adjustment.

I also want to make candied fruit this weekend – probably just oranges and lemons but if I am feeling really adventurous I just might try my hand at candied ginger.   Once that is done, it’s just cruise on into Christmas.

On the knitting front, I am glad to be done with all the itty-bitty mitten decorations.  I still need to finish a scarf I started on before Thanksgiving that has languished in the backseat of my car.  And of course I really have to get my butt in gear on the kimono.  That deadline will be here faster than I expect.   Then there is the French Press Felted Slippers craze that I am was fighting.   Not that hard apparently, as I did purchase the pattern last night in a moment of weakness, and now I am plotting how to get to the yarn store between picking up groceries and getting to the Java Room for knit nite.   I might be a little late to knitting…

4 responses to “It’s coming on Christmas…

  1. Oh Lynne…I love the tree !! …and the photo out of focus a bit with all the books and papers behind reminds me of Bob Cratchit’s clerical desk !!! How Dickens of you 🙂

    Merry Christmas to you, your friends and family !!

  2. We will forgive any lateness 😉

  3. love the tree. that’ll be me, next year.

    and you’ll adjust to the 18 thing in under 3 minutes.

    fun seeing you last week. let’s hang on to plans for something in jan. i’ll be ready for a good spin.

  4. Thanks , I’ve just been searching for inoormatifn about this topic for ages and yours is the greatest I have discovered so far. But, what about the bottom line? Are you sure about the source?

Leave a Reply

