Oh where or where is time flying too?

Update on the Ravelympics Flying Camel Spinning competition.  The goal was to spindle spin 4 oz of my handpainting roving.  I crashed and burned.  I got about 3/4s of the roving spun but unfortunately too many other things got in the way.

Like Spa Weekend.

This was my 5th Spa weekend.  It’s probably one of the best weekends of the year!

Once again 5 of us headed out early Friday morning heading to Freeport, ME.  We stopped in Wells for breakfast at the Maine Diner – YUM!  The Irish Eggs Benedict were fabulous.  Corned Beef Hash instead of the Canadian Bacon – really, really good!

Since we were on the road so early and couldn’t check in until late afternoon, we headed up to Bath to visit Purl Diva.  I scored two skeins of the new Malabrigo Twist 🙂

Then it was off to Halcyon.  There was lots that I wanted but needed to hold back because I knew there were going to be awesome vendors at Spa to visit too.

We got back to Freeport a little earlier than the posted check-in time, but they let us in early, where we planted ourselves in the same townhouse we had last year.  We settled in for a little relaxing, cocktails, spinning and knitting.

Then we headed over to the Hilton for the opening of the vendor area and to meet up with some friends who were staying there.

I was so excited knowing that Autumn Hollow Farm was going to be vending there.  I have been lusting after their spindles for months and once the doors opened I headed directly to their booth where I fell madly in love with this baby that had to come home with me.

I haven’t weighed her yet, but she is bloodwood with turquoise inlay.  She spins like a dream.

The next stop was Spunky’s booth where a few bits of roving had to come home with me too.  Then it was off to Woolen Rabbit where a skein of her Kashmir jumped into my hands.

We had such a great time as usual,  lots of great food, lots of great shopping, lots of great fiber stuff and most of all lots of great friends which produced lots of laughing.  Cannot wait until next year!

I am also getting down to the wire of finishing my kimono for the exhibit… more to come on that soon.

One response to “Oh where or where is time flying too?

  1. You were able to resist the EKF batts? WOW!!! I’ll have to look for the Maine diner next year. See you on Tuesday? Hubby’s class was canceled this week.

Leave a Reply

