Daffodowndilly

Daffodowndilly

by A.A. Milne

She wore her yellow sun-bonnet,
She wore her greenest gown;
She turned to the south wind
And curtsied up and down.
She turned to the sunlight
And shook her yellow head,
And whispered to her neighbour:
“Winter is dead.”

The daffodils have sprouted but not quite ready to show there sunny faces, but the crocus are all in full bloom.  A sure sign of spring.

I have been doing nothing but work (the boring kind) and working on my kimono for the exhibit.  I was a little worried that I wouldn’t finish, but there is a light at the end of the tunnel, and I haven’t allowed myself to deviate from the project.  So knitting has been all Kimono, all the time and little or no spinning.  I miss spinning 😦

The rains have finally stopped and the sun came out but there are lots of rain drops to dry up.  There were places in the area that got  10+ inches of rain.  I shudder to think if it had just been a little colder and turned to snow, we would still be buried.  Getting to work has been a little adventure with all the detours around the swollen waterways.  Wetlands have turned to lakes, and babbling brooks into raging rivers.  Fortunately I am on high enough ground so no water in my basement.  My sister however, is still bailing out.

Before the flooding actually started last Sunday, I managed to get out to Townsend to pick up bags and bags of yarn.

This is not all of it!  I scored this through a friend, of a friends mother-in-law.  She used to own her own flock of sheep (Romney’s and Corriedales).  She would send the fleece out to be processed into yarn for her use.  But the sheep are long gone and she has moved on to new creative territories and wanted to get it out of her closet.  The white is Romney and the natural brown is the Corriedale.

I haven’t counted all the skeins, nor weighed any of it yet, but I believe they are 100 gram skeins of 2 ply worsted weight, so approximately 200 yards in each skein.  I think I have around 100 skeins of the Romney (white) and about 120 skeins of the Corriedale (brown).  It’s lovely yarn and I cannot wait to dye some of this up.  The Corriedale is going to make a (or several) beautiful sweater(s).  But I cannot get distracted until the Kimono is DONE.  Only the neckband of 400+ stitches to finish, weave in all the ends, steam block and then I can start planning the sweater.



5 responses to “Daffodowndilly

  1. Oh my goodness! You done GREAT!!! We missed you on Sunday, but I can certainly see what kept you away was well worth it!

  2. Nice score! Wonderful that she was able to find it all a loving home.

  3. oh my – I had no idea the magnitude of the score!! sweeeeeet!!

  4. That brown is lovely!!!!

    jealous(100)

  5. Holy moly, what a find! Do you plan to dye all of it, in the fullness of time?

Leave a Reply

