Inspiration

Open Studios this past Saturday was great!  Lots of new faces brought in by the Chronicle piece a few weeks ago.  If you haven’t seen the segment on Western Avenue Studios click here.

Cindy and I have been busy bees dyeing lots of the Romney Yarn with Natural Dyes.  Cochineal, Turmeric, Indigo, Brazilwood, Onion Skins, using lots of different mordants.  Gorgeous stuff.

Cochineal

Turmeric

Indigo and Over-dyed Turmeric

On the way out Saturday, one of the other fiber artist invited me to do a sculptural piece for an upcoming ALL (Arts League of Lowell) Show in August.  I said I hadn’t really thought of doing anything sculptural but I would think about it and get back to her.

Think about it I did…  I recently picked up this book

What a great book for sparking some inspiration.

So I’ve been playing with some of the techniques in the book, wire, feathers, lumpy bumpy yarns and loving it.  This has now triggered my new obsession… Nests…

Here are some samples that I made this past Monday.  So much fun!

Today was Mordant Yarn Tuesday.  So far,  6 skeins of Copper, 6 skeins of Chrome, 6 skeins of Iron, and 6 skeins of Tin.  Dye day coming soon!

One response to “Inspiration

  1. The colors of the yarns are awesome! I especially love the tumeric! Great job!

Leave a Reply

