Time Flies…

Ok what happened to August and most of September?

I have been a very busy looking for a job, doing lots of fibery things, enjoying the summer and cooking lots of yummy things.

First the job search…  it sucks, especially when you don’t know what you want to be when you grow up.

Next Fibery Things


Andrew and the Dead Fish Hat

A few of us finally all showed up for Sunday at the Peddler’s Daughter a week ago Sunday so we presented Andrew with his new winter ski hat.  Fortunately he loved it.  For Rav readers – this is the dead fish hat, knit with various commercial and handspun yarns.

The Dead Fish Hat from the back

I also finished a shawl (no pics yet) and several pairs of socks in various stages.

I am also experimenting with shibori dyeing and felting.  I’ve rescued a few old 100% wool sweaters from my new favorite second-hand shop, Saver’s.  I then dyed the sweater a base color, then tied marbles and sewed pleats.  After that I felted the sweater and overdyed it.  Then removed the threads and marbles.  I love the effects and will cut this up and see what it wants to be.  I am thinking a bag at this point.

I have also been cooking with the harvest coming in.  Last week I picked most of the remaining concord grapes from a friends very abundant arbor.  I hoped to get enough grape juice to make a batch of jelly.  I ended up with enough for THREE!  I made two batches and froze the rest of the juice for later.   It made really yummy jelly this year.  Much better than last years batch.

Mary came down this week and we spent a couple of days making salsa.  This too came out really good.  So know we are stocked with salsa for the winter – I think we used an entire bushel of canning tomatoes from Gary’s Farm Stand and the end of the green chilis from my brother who lives in New Mexico that had been grilled, peeled seeded and frozen.  This is a good batch for sure.

This past weekend was Lowell Open Studios, so things were busy around Western Avenue Studios.  Some of the lovely people that did a dye workshop with me last week stopped by.  It was really nice to see you all again.  I hope we can do some dyeing again soon.

So as you can see I have been very busy, I almost don’t know when I had time to work.  But I really do need to find a job… soon!  So keep me in your thoughts and burn some green candles for me.

Oh and next Saturday is Open Studio again, so I have to get busy dyeing this week!

One response to “Time Flies…

  1. Very cool shibori project!
    I’m happy to know about Savers… a good thrift store is hard to find.

Leave a Reply

